Mom de Cuisine


Nutella and Banana Bread
September 20, 2011, 11:35 am
Filed under: Breakfast | Tags: ,

Recently I found out about a grocery service that delivers.  Great, sometimes going to the store with two kids in tow is not fun (wait, did I say sometimes, I really meant every time) so having my groceries brought right to my door seems like a win-win.  I can shop at my leisure, and I don’t have to deal with two preschoolers begging for treats, candies, and coins while I would like to quietly peruse isles.    The service seemed to work well, the only catch was all fresh produce and meat can only be ordered by the kilogram. 

Well I wanted some bananas, but almost 2 pounds is way more than we could eat before they went bad.   Oh, and not to mention, someone (who shall remain nameless) has a little problem going number two after eating bananas.  Sorry, is mentioning bodily functions T.M.I. on a food blog?  Well if you have kids, you know that this is a topic that is regularly discussed. Yay for poop!

Anyway, I thought banana bread would be a great way to use up some of the extras, but I wanted to add a little twist.  Nutella.  I was very pleased with the way these came out, especially since I heavily tweaked the recipe.  The banana flavor was present, but not over powering, it was slightly sweet, and the nutella added a nice flavor as well.  My husband said he didn’t really care for it, but asked for a few slices in his lunch the next day to go with his coffee (faker!)  The kids, on the other hand, loved it.  I could barely shoot the bread before “M” was trying to eat a piece of “cake.”

Banana and Nutella Bread

*adapted from peanut butter-banana muffins at epicurious.com

Ingredients:

2 cups all purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup mashed ripe bananas (about 3 medium)

1/2 cup honey

1/2 cup nutella

2 large eggs

1/3 cup applesauce

1/4 cup (packed) dark brown sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 400°F. Grease 4 small loaf pans, or 12 muffin cups. Stir first 4 ingredients in small bowl to blend. Using electric mixer, beat bananas, honey, nutella, eggs, applesauce, sugar and vanilla in medium bowl to blend. Beat in flour mixture. Divide batter among muffin cups or loaf pans.

Bake bread until tester inserted into center comes out clean, about 20 minutes for muffins, 35 for loaves. Transfer muffins or loaves to rack; cool.


22 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This does look tasty and I think the blend of bananas and nutella are a great pairing. Funny how someone states they do not like something but continue to eat-I guess actions speak more than words! Great post.

Comment by Tina@flourtrader

I love the flavor combo of bananas and nutella….in fact, I cut bananas lengthwise and put nutella in it for hubby! Delicious! I can’t imagine living in an area that delivers groceries….we’ve never had that sort of convenience!

Comment by Ann

Am I the only one that isn’t on the Nutella boat? I’ve seen so many things with nutella in them. I’ve never had it! It’s similiar to peanut butter right? I’m on my way to the store today to pick up a few things and I’ve just added that the list. Maybe I’ll jump on board. Your bread looks wonderful. Ijust love banana bread!

Comment by Shay

It’s sorta like peanut butter without the peanuts (they use hazelnuts to make it) with a slight chocolatey taste. You won’t be sorry you bought it. I can’t wait to see what you do with it!

Comment by alyssa

Well I bought some and you’re right, I’m not dissapointed! I just want to eat it with a spoon! Now to decide what to make with it…if there’s any left 🙂 Thanks!

Comment by Shay

I am not much of a banana bread buff but this one has caught my fancy. I guess it has something to do with Nutella ..oh yum. Buzzed

Comment by Vindya

Oh this looks scrumptious! I love your recipes. I’m going to have such a long grocery list this week!

Comment by Taryn @ Formal Fringe

You had me at nutella! This sounds like a great moist banana bread!

Comment by Erin @ Dinners, Dishes and Desserts

Nutella and banana, what a perfect combo!! This bread sounds moist and delicious!

Comment by Stephanie

I love nutella! I could eat that stuff straight out of the jar! Pairing it with banana just sounds right 🙂

Comment by thesmartcookiecook

When you said grocery shopping with your kids is not fun, I literally laughed out loud. I’m in my 20s and my mom still won’t let me come to the store with her.

Comment by Kristin

I am in love with both nutella and banana bread, so I have to try this combo! It looks like such a beautiful and moist loaf from your photos. Go ahead and mention bodily functions on your food blog– it made me laugh! 🙂

Comment by Nicole @ Bake Me Blush

oooh wonderful recipe! I love Nutella!!!
great!!!

greatings from Milan,Italy (thetwinkycake.blogspot.com)

Comment by twinky (@TheTwinkyCake)

Oh my..I am so diggin this! I LOVE nutella! who doesn’t? Hubby and I thought we were so cool sneaking it out of Italy a few years ago until we came home and saw it next to the peanutbutter in the store..haha!

Comment by Samantha Ferraro (@FerraroKitchen)

Serious! YUM

Comment by Kathleen

My friend who has 3 kids use the grocery delivery in Japan. She told me it is not as expensive as regular grocery shopping, so I thought how they can make money. But now I see, you have to buy a big portion (bulk?). But I totally understand. Going with 2 kids is crazy. Lately my husband and I can’t even take them out together. Even one on one…. (my kids are 5 and 3). I’m glad you found a nice way to consume banana. Adding nutella is a great idea and I’m going to do the same too!

Comment by Nami | Just One Cookbook

Great idea putting Nutella into Banana Bread!

Comment by oureatinghabits

Like all Italian children I literally grew up eating bread and Nutella (for us is like PB for American kids)… so I LOVE everything made with it! This bread looks scrumptious!!! 🙂

Comment by Manu

Can’t never go wrong with banana bread..not to mention when nutella involved!

Comment by Angie's Recipes

[…] = ''; } Pumpkin Banana Bread with Pumpkin GlazeSugar-Free Banana Bread two waysNutella and Banana BreadPumpkin Banana Bread with Pumpkin GlazeSugar-Free Banana Bread two waysNutella and Banana […]

Pingback by Your Questions About Banana Bread Recipe Moist

[…] = ''; } PROTEIN WHOLE GRAIN BANANA BREADBanana BreadNutella and Banana BreadPROTEIN WHOLE GRAIN BANANA BREADBanana BreadNutella and Banana […]

Pingback by Your Questions About Banana Bread Calories

[…] pantry.  I made a simple black bean dip and some homemade tortilla chips and threw together some banana and nutella muffins, sliced some cheese, cut up some apples and remembered I had a pomegranate in the fridge that I had […]

Pingback by Make-Ahead Monday: Black Bean Dip with Pomegranates « Mom de Cuisine




Leave a comment