Mom de Cuisine


Make-Ahead Monday: Black Bean Dip with Pomegranates
November 1, 2011, 9:24 am
Filed under: Appetizers | Tags: ,

 

I know what you’re thinking.  Black beans and pomegranates?!?!  Well, don’t knock it ’til you try it.  Last week I was in charge of refreshments for a mid-morning get together.  I didn’t have much time to get to the store, so I had to make use of what I already had in my pantry.  I made a simple black bean dip and some homemade tortilla chips and threw together some banana and nutella muffins, sliced some cheese, cut up some apples and remembered I had a pomegranate in the fridge that I had no immediate plans for.  As everyone at the get together would have children in tow, I also made up some quick PB& J roll ups (I will post later because they came out pretty cute.) 

It actually was not I who paired the bean dip and the pomegranates together.  I had simply brought the pomegranates as another fruit option, completely separate.  However, when snacking, a new friend of mine complemented the dip and chips.  She said she especially liked it paired with the pomegranate.  Hmmmm….I immediately mixed a few seeds into my dip and tasted it.

Oh, did it taste good.  The salty and smoky bean dip accentuated with a sweet burst from the pomegranate seeds, which also proved to add a bit of crunch to the otherwise smooth texture of the dip.  I was hooked.  I would have usually left any extra snacks for my hostess, if she pleased; but I admit, I selfishly took home the rest of the dip and the pomegranate seeds and devoured them for lunch a short time later.

When I made the dip, I had no plans to blog about it.  It’s almost too simple.  But I had to share this combination.  You see, we have all been fighting terrible colds for almost a week.  My husband was kind enough to devote some time in the kitchen cooking up enough food to feed us through the week, as it didn’t seem that I was going to be in much shape to do it.  I hadn’t had much of an appetite over the last week, but the one thing I haven’t been able to get out of my head was the dip.  So now that I’m on the upswing, the first thing I set to do in the kitchen was make more of the dip.  Also, this is the reason as to why this post is a bit late, I know it’s not Monday, but I could barley lift my head off the couch, so blogging was out of the question the last few days. 

Anyway, I thought this was a good make-head dish for entertaining because it really does taste best if the dip is made and refrigerated overnight to allow all of the flavors to come together.  With with holiday season upon us, it is always good to have a few go-to recipes for entertaining that can be made ahead of time, and this one will surely be showing up in whatever entertaining we do!

 

 

Black Bean Dip with Pomegranate Seeds

 

Ingredients:

1 12 oz can of black beans

2 tablespoons cumin

1 tablespoon fresh lime juice

2 tablespoons fresh cilantro, chopped, plus more for garnish

2-3 tablespoons pomegranate seeds

 

 

Preparation:

Place beans (beans and liquid from the can,) cumin and lime juice in a sauce pan over medium heat, bring to a simmer to warm the beans through.  Remove from heat and add the cilantro.  Puree the mixture until smooth.  Refrigerate the dip, covered several hours to overnight.

To serve, uncover the dip and sprinkle the pomegranate seeds and cilantro over the top.  Serve with bread sticks or tortilla chips for dipping.

 

 

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Kudos to your new flavor combo! I love mixing spicy with sweet. This would totally work for me too. : )

Comment by Ramona

Nothing like discovering new flavor pairings! The way you described the flavor now has me wanting to try it. Thanks for sharing!

Comment by Tina@flourtrader

Yum! I love black bean dip. I’m the weirdest when it comes to beans…I don’t eat them when they are in their natural form but smashed up and pureed, I love them. These flavors sound incredible!

Comment by Bake Your Day

I love interesting little combinations like this! I bet the pomegranates are a nice bright note among the super thick richness of the black beans.

Comment by Joanne

This is such a unique combo! I really wanna try it!

Comment by Stephanie

I like that sort of interesting flavor combo….I agree with Joanne – a nice bright note! I look forward to the roll-ups!

Comment by Ann

Now that is a very unusual combo… but I have learnt that often the weirdest combos are the ones that taste the best! And this sip sounds like one of these! I like that the pomegranate seeds also add a little crunch to the dip! Great idea and thank you for posting about it! 🙂

Comment by Manu

very interesting combination and even both in my pantry I am not creative enough to come up a dish like this! Pomegranates are beautiful and it stands out on dark bean color!

Comment by Nami | Just One Cookbook

This looks so delicious. Would love for you to share this with us over at foodepix.com.

Comment by Jo




Leave a Reply

