Mom de Cuisine


Blackening Spice Blend
January 11, 2012, 11:06 am
Filed under: and Sauces

After I made pasta last week, I’ve been thinking about trying to make more of our food completely from scratch.  My husband and I don’t really believe in New Years resolutions.  If we want to change something, we think we just do it. 

So in the spirit of a non-resolution, I’ve resolved to make more things from scratch 🙂

After all, homemade is usually healthier and tastes better.  I think that is true with my blackening spice blend.  I used lemon salt to cut down on the amount of sodium that is typical in store bought spice mixtures and then I could control the amount of each spice so that the blend was to our liking. 

I just went into the pantry and grabbed all the spices I thought ought to be in a blackening blend and started playing with proportions of each until it was just the right amount of salt, flavor and heat. 

Of course, this was just the blend that I thought would suit our tastes best, but feel free to add/subtract/change any of the spices 🙂

Blackening Spice Blend

Ingredients:

½ tablespoon sea salt

1 tablespoon lemon salt*

3 tablespoons black pepper

3 tablespoons paprika

2 tablespoons cayenne

1 ½ tablespoon thyme

3 tablespoons garlic powder

3 tablespoons onion powder

Preparation:

Blend all of the ingredients and adjust for taste.  Store in an airtight container.

*lemon salt is pretty easy to find here and usually sold by the kilo, but I had never seen it before coming toBahrain.  I’m sure it could be found at a specialty store like whole foods or maybe an ethnic market.


16 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You’ve got the right idea. I must make my own dry spice blends too. I am lazy to make my own curry powders, taco mix etc… because it’s convenient to buy it at the store already mixed, but the sodium is high. 😦 I need to try this. I do make my own curry paste fresh… I can’t buy the jarred or canned curry paste because I get an odd flavor from it. weird… huh? Well kudos to you on your scratch making spice blend!! 🙂

Comment by Ramona

I think working from scratch is a brilliant non-resolution resolution! 🙂 The spices you’ve gathered here are fantastic and I just love the idea of a lemon infused sea salt…great idea Alyssa!

Comment by Kelly @ Inspired Edibles

This blend sounds wonderful and the pictures are too cute. I also use a bit of sugar in my blend… I find that it helps whatever I’m blackening to caramelize!

Comment by comowater.com

I absolutely love these photos, Alyssa. Homemade spice blends are my favorite!

Comment by Cassie @ bake your day

Alyssa, your posts always delight me! Here is to making more food from scratch!

Comment by chandra@ the plaid and paisley kitchen

This spice blend sounds wonderful… I will have to keep my eyes open for some lemon salt.

Comment by Susie

What a delicious spice blend! I bet this tastes WAY better than buying a bottle of the stuff….and your photos are stunning! Really well done! YUMMY!

Comment by Ann

I too don’t like resolution. Just live every moment right 🙂
This spice blend looks lovely and i always enjoy spice blend.

Comment by kankana

I need to make more homemade spice blends – good idea. Your pictures are gorgeous by the way!

Comment by Erin @ Dinners, Dishes, and Desserts

I have always wanted to try making my own spice blends and I love making blackened chicken and fish so this would be perfect!

Comment by Stephanie

Making your own dry spice blends is a great money saver and also much better than store bought. You chose a wonderful blend here, my favorite use for this type of spice is on red snapper. I am definitely keeping this recipe-thanks for sharing it.

Comment by Tina@flourtrader

I definitely think it’s a good idea to make things from scratch. It’s usually cheaper AND tastier! Good luck with your non-resolution 😉

Comment by The Smart Cookie Cook

I love homemade spice blend because each one has different way to season food, so it’s a lot of fun to try others. I bookmarked this and will give it a try! I can hopefully make nice meal like you do. =D

Comment by Nami | Just One Cookbook

Very cool mix! Love all of them and i am just imagining in what recipes I could include this hehe!
Love your photos!

Comment by Sandra's Easy Cooking

[…] Blackening Spice Blend […]

Pingback by Blackened Chicken Caesar Salad « Mom de Cuisine

This looks like a perfect lightened meal! I can definitely use one of those in my world 🙂 PS: I have a giveaway going on now that I think you might be in to!

Comment by Baking Serendipity




Leave a comment