Mom de Cuisine


Make-Ahead Monday: Sweet and Spicy Slow Cooker Wings
December 12, 2011, 10:52 am
Filed under: Appetizers | Tags: ,

 

Sometimes I think I must be psychic Ok not really, but I must say I planned well this week.  I had already planned on making these wings for dinner when our gas went out.  You see, here they just give you a big cylinder of gas and you don’t know how much you have left until there is none.  Usually no big deal, you call the company and same day, they drop off a new cylinder.  However, this was the third one we have gone through in just a couple of weeks.  My husband and I concluded that there must be a leak somewhere in the gas line.  We had someone come out to look at it and that was where the fun started.  He says he will put a whole new gas cylinder on and come back the next day to figure out where the leak is.  I say, no way are you going to just allow gas to leak the rest of the day, it’s just too dangerous, and we could blow up the house!  He says, don’t worry, I don’t check the leaks with fire.  Ahhhh!  Needless to say, we still have no gas, which means no stove.

But, back to my psychosis, I mean being psychic….I had planned to make some wings in my electric pressure cooker anyway, so dinner that night wasn’t ruined.  I used a modified version of Sandra Lee’s recipe for slow cooker wings, and I have to say, they turned out pretty good.  Love Sandra!  She’s like Martha Stewart meets a drunken sailor.  She always makes such beautiful table settings to go along with a strong cocktail.  Anyway, beside the point, the wings turned out well and I didn’t even need to risk blowing our villa up!

Sweet and Spicy Slow Cooker Wings

*Adapted from Sandra Lee’s Hot and Sticky Wings

Ingredients:

3 lbs thawed chicken wings

1/2 cup ketchup

1 12 oz. jar pineapple jam

1 tablespoon paprika

2 tablespoons lemon pepper

1 habenero, seeds removed and diced

Chopped green onion, for garnish

Sesame seeds, for garnish

Preparation:

Combine wings and the next five ingredients in a slow cooker (or electric pressure cooker like me) and cook on high 2-3 hours in a slow cooker (one hour in a pressure cooker.)

To serve, put wings on a platter and garnish with green onion and sesame seeds

 

Be sure to check out this link party at Make Ahead Meals for Busy Moms’ blog!  Link up or check out some of the other great links!


9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

i love chicken wings. thanks for the recipe.

Comment by Loveforfood

These wings look amazing!! I hope you get your gas leak fixed… how scary!! I am with you…that man was crazy thinking you’d let gas leak all over your place so he could come check it later. Hope it’s an easy fix so you can get back to stove top cooking. 🙂

Comment by Ramona

I really hope the gas leak is resolved soon! I would like to have at least a gas stove, but stories like this do scare me.
Your chicken wings do sound like a tasty idea. The slow cook method must make them deliciously moist-your picture sure does temp-yum!

Comment by Tina@flourtrader

These look AMAZING!!!!!! I wonder if I could just cook these in a pan since I don’t have a slowcooker.

Comment by Joanne

Oi, how freaky about the gas leak! Well, for going without a stove, you sure have made a delicious dish here! I love sweet and spicy!

Comment by Stephanie

Woooo! Those look amazing!

Comment by Carroll

…we’re buying a house. it has a gas stove. my first. Now I’m gonna be worried about blowing us all up! Eek!

Maybe I’ll just stick to using my slow cooker 🙂

Looks gorgeous!

Comment by Parsley Sage

These do look delicious and a gas leak is scary! We had the same type of things in Italy – we called them Bombolas. I love cooking with gas, but I wasn’t crazy about the bottle!

Comment by Cooking Healthy For Me

[…] Sweet and Spicy Slow Cooker Wings from Mom De Cuisine […]

Pingback by Melt in Your Mouth Monday Blog Hop #44 | Make Ahead Meals For Busy Moms




Leave a comment