Mom de Cuisine


Curried Fish in Banana Leaves
January 7, 2012, 8:39 am
Filed under: Fish, Main Course | Tags: , , ,

 

I actually made this curried fish a while ago, but I’m just now getting around to posting it, because I was thinking I may make it again tonight for dinner.  When Lulu’s Hypermarket first opened almost two months ago, I was immediately enamored with their produce section.  There is so much exotic produce, sometimes I just walk around in circles trying to decide what I would like to try next.  One of my first “exotic” purchases was these banana leaves.   

I thought they were a great and healthy way to steam fish.  Their flavor is subtle, and to be honest, the curry covered most of it, but it kept the hamour moist and tender. 

Curried Hamour in Banana Leaves

Ingredients:

1 kg Fresh firm white fish, such as hamour (that’s about 2lbs)

1 banana leaf for each piece of fish

3 garlic cloves, chopped

1 tablespoons lemongrass, chopped

1 tablespoon minced peeled fresh ginger

1 tablespoons red curry paste*

1 cups unsweetened coconut milk

2 cups chicken stock

1 tablespoons fish sauce

1/2 teaspoons sugar

Cilantro for garnish

Preparation:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Sautee garlic, lemon grass and ginger in a pot.  Add curry paste and sauté one more minute.  Whisk in coconut milk, chicken stock and fish sauce.  Add sugar and cook 5 minutes.  Divide the sauce.

Place a piece of fish on each banana leaf; pour half of the sauce over the filets.  Wrap up the banana leaf around the fish and place in a baking dish, seam side down. 

Bake 10-15 minutes, depending on the thickness of the fish.  Serve the fish with the remaining sauce, sprinkle with cilantro and white rice.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I like to see healthy preparations of fish like this. Very little of this is out there in the US. It seems as if most places want to stick to the basics-blackened, broiled or fried. Glad to have been able to pick up on this curry dish-yum!

Comment by Tina@flourtrader

The fish would smell so good with the banana leaf. Here we love to grill fish in banana leaf too.
Happy New Year to you and your family, Alyssa. Thanks for making time to visit my blog!

Comment by Shannon | Just As Delish

I’ve yet to cook something in banana leaf… but now I’m inspired! HUGS! 😀

Comment by Tiffany

I love cooking with banana leaves too. I love all your curry ingredients and this looks amazingly tasty! 🙂 Have a great weekend. ~ Ramona

Comment by Ramona

Using banana leaves sounds fun! I’m not sure if I can even purchase it around here…must be somewhere in Asian market. This looks amazing! It’s a great dish to serve for a small party too. I like anything with curry (although I can’t eat too spicy). I can eat curry everyday if I can. 🙂 Love this recipe Alyssa! Oh, forgot to say Happy New Year, although it’s kind of too late to say it??

Comment by Nami | Just One Cookbook

Delicious! I love this sort of thing – I can’t have fish, but maybe thinly sliced chicken?

Comment by Ann

Talk about healthy eats… and this is so great with the banana leaves! What a unique and inventive post Alyssa!

Comment by Kelly @ Inspired Edibles

I love what you did with those leaves! I’ve never tried anything with them, but this fish looks so delicious and flavorful!

Comment by Stephanie




Leave a Reply

