Mom de Cuisine


Make Ahead Monday: New Year Black-Eyed Peas
January 2, 2012, 4:52 am
Filed under: Main Course, Sides | Tags:

We are still enjoying some great family time until my husband has to go back to work, so I’m going to keep this short and sweet.  We’ve had a great holiday spending time together.  We’ve lounged around the house, enjoyed the beautiful weather at a new playground and went to one ofBahrain’s ubiquitous Friday brunches. 

Every year for as long as I can remember we’ve had black eyed peas New Years day for good luck, so this year was no exception.  This year I didn’t do anything fancy.  Just soaked the beans overnight in water, put them in the pressure cooker, covered with chicken stock and generously sprinkled in garlic powder, onion powder, and red pepper flakes and let it go for about an hour.  I usually do them in a slow cooker and let them simmer for a few hours, but this just seemed easier.  I’d also usually throw in a turkey leg for flavor and because I like some meat in my beans, but I didn’t have one, so my husband just ate his with a bit of left over ham from Christmas. 

 

I’ve got some great recipes planned for the New Year, at least I think so.  I hope everyone had a safe and happy holiday season and welcome to 2012!

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You gotta love black eyed peas for New Years day. I’ve been only making them for the last 12 years and I love the tradition. I also prepared some collard greens for the first time this year. Of course they were all curried… yes.. big surprise. 🙂 I hope you and your family have a wonderful and joyful 2012! All the best to you! ~ Ramona

Comment by Ramona

I LOVE black eyed peas, they are so delicious! Throwing them in the slow cooker sounds like a super easy way to cook them!

Comment by Joanne Ozug

Delish! And I ate mine yesterday for good luck 😀

Comment by comowater.com

What a lovely recipe. Thanks for sharing.

Comment by veronica gantley

This is a great tradition for good luck , had mine yesterday. Funny, I was at a quick mart and someone called the clerk asking for these, of course they did not have them. Someone did not plan well! Glad to see that you did and I love the idea of using the turkey leg, I will need to try that. Have an awesome 2012.

Comment by Tina@flourtrader

[…] Make Ahead Monday: New Year Black-Eyed Peas (momdecuisine.net) […]

Pingback by Black Eyed Pea and Sausage Stew | Hungry Hugheys

Im glad to hear you are still enjoying time with family, that is what the holidays are all about! These black-eyed peas look yummy! Happy New Year!

Comment by Stephanie

We had black eyed peas, too! My friend made them – she’s an amazing souther cook! Your photos are delicious and enjoy your time with hubby!

Comment by Ann

Happy New Year Alyssa! Um, I have to say I’ve never had black eye peas before (I think…as long as I remember). This looks healthy and I’m sure they look delicious (as everyone here commented). I’m still on a break as my mom is still here. I have just a few more days to enjoy with her. I hope you had a nice holiday!

Comment by Nami | Just One Cookbook




Leave a Reply

