Mom de Cuisine


Cindy-Lou Who Christmas Wreaths
December 24, 2011, 12:02 pm
Filed under: Dessert, Just for Fun, Snacks | Tags: ,

 

When I was a kid, I used to love Dr. Seuss books and much to my delight, my children love them as well.  I’m sure part of it is the fact that I’ve been reading One Fish Two Fish and Oh the Places You’ll Go, along with many others since they were babies; but none the less, I love that they love those stories.  Naturally because it’s Christmas time, we’ve been reading How the Grinch Stole Christmas.  I’ve read the story to them at least once a day, every day pretty much since Thanksgiving.  We even downloaded the TV special on iTunes (the original, not the Jim Carey version.) 

Some time ago I came across a Dr. Seuss inspired cookbook, aptly named, Green Eggs and Ham Cookbook and I decided to order it for myself the kids for Christmas.  After it arrived, I read it cover-to-cover (as I do with every new cookbook) so now that Christmas time is here, I knew the kids would have fun with the idea of making Cindy-Lou Who Christmas wreaths inspired from the cookbook.  I kind of felt like the Grinch when I was making this.  No, not because I was going to try to steal Christmas, but rather, like the part of the book that goes:

Then he got an idea!
An awful idea!
THE GRINCH
GOT A WONDERFUL, AWFUL IDEA!

It was a wonderful, awful idea.  We made these sugary wreaths at 9am (and they had each eaten one my 9:15 am.)  Giving preschoolers that much sugar in the morning was an awful idea, but it was so wonderful to watch them get so excited about it.

There really is no recipe; I just followed the directions for crispy rice treats on the bag of marshmallows, except used corn flakes instead of rice crispy.  I added a few drops of green food coloring (the book’s recipe doesn’t do that, but I thought it would make them more festive)  used my mini doughnut pan to shape them, add a few craisins on top, and enjoy.

*I’ll be taking a break from blogging over the next few days to fully enjoy the holiday with my family.  Peace and Love to you and yours and I’ll probably see you again before the New Year!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Awww.. I wish I had done this with my kids. I love the little wreaths. 🙂 Have a Very Merry Christmas!! Hope you get all you wished for this Christmas!! All the best. 🙂 Ramona

PS.. I want a doughnut pan!! 🙂

Comment by Ramona

Totally worth the sugar rush! I MUST get this cookbook 🙂 Looks delicious and grinchy and wonderful for the holiday

Buzzed!

And Merry Christmas 🙂

Comment by Parsley Sage

These are adorable, Alyssa! Hope you guys had a wonderful Christmas!

Comment by Stephanie

These look delicious! I’m a HUGE fan of the grinch (the original) and my doggie would bark at him every time she saw him on TV!

Comment by Ann

Too cute! P.S…. Dr. Seuss was from my home town! 😀

Comment by Tiffany




Leave a Reply

