Mom de Cuisine


Make Ahead Monday: Baked Pumpkin Risotto
December 19, 2011, 9:15 am
Filed under: Pasta & Rice, Sides, Vegetable | Tags: ,

A few weeks ago I was at the grocery store to pick up some milk but of course, in true Alyssa fashion, there is no quick trip to the store.  I still had to walk up and down every isle, looking at everything.  I must look like a nut to the people who work at the store.  I can spend hours there, looking at everything, reading labels, putting things in my cart and putting them back.  Anyway, this particular day, I was so glad I took my time to look, because on the bottom shelf pushed to the back in the baking isle were a few cans of pureed pumpkin.  Just pumpkin, not pumpkin pie filling.  I may, or may not have snatched it off the shelf.  I may, or may not have raced to the check out to buy it.  I may, or may not have hid it in the back of the pantry like someone was going to break in and steal it. 

No, I’m not some kind of crazy pumpkin nut.  To be honest, I never really cared for the stuff that much before.  It’s just that there are not the same kind of pumpkins you carve for Halloween, and the canned stuff couldn’t be found anywhere on the island.  You know the saying, something like, “you never appreciate what you’ve got until it’s gone.”  Well that has been my feeling about pumpkin.  To my other foodie friends who have been making pumpkin recipes and posting them for months, you may have noticed me tell you how great it was and how I was jealous excited to see the post. 

Well, now I had my very own can of pumpkin and it has literally taken me weeks to decide what to make with it.  Indecisive me decided to finally use it to make a super easy (and pretty good) risotto.  And of course, I wanted to figure out a way to make this a make-ahead dish as it’s the week before Christmas and I’ve got tons of stuff on my nap time to-do list (ok that’s a lie, I wanted to spend nap time catching up on Real Housewives of Atlanta.) There were many slow cooker risotto recipes I came across while doing a quick web search, but all required stirring at various points during the cooking process, which I thought kind of defeated the point (and I didn’t want to have to pause the RHWoA or miss a minute of any cat fight!)  So when I saw this recipe for a baked risotto that was so simple, I knew I had to try it.   My verdict:  it was a bit gummier than a traditionally made risotto, but it was so easy that I’d do it again.

 

Baked Pumpkin Risotto:

*Adapted from Ezra Pound Cake’s Easy Baked Risotto

Ingredients:

3 1/2 cupsTurkeyStock ( used up what I had made after Thanksgiving)

1 cup pureed pumpkin

4 teaspoons ground cumin

1 1/2 cup Arborio rice

1 cup shredded pepper jack cheese

1 tablespoon butter

Fresh thyme to garnish

Salt and Black pepper to taste

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 350.  Combine stock, pumpkin, cumin and rice in a casserole.  Cover and bake for 45 minutes.  Remove from the oven and stir in cheese and butter.  Garnish with fresh cracked black pepper and thyme leaves.  Serve immediately.

16 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Mmmm.. cumin and pumpkin… YUM! I have never heard of a baked risotto… I think I’ll have to give it a shot. Your post really made me laugh between scurrying your pumpkin stash and hiding it and the Real Housewives… LOL! Very funny stuff. I am a Christmas Movie fanatic so I get caught up in all the made for TV Christmas movies that are on all the channels here… I have at least 20 to watch on my DVR…I may spend up to New Years catching up on Christmas. LOL! I hope you and your family have a wonderful and safe Christmas!!!! I’m sure I’ll be popping over here before then.. but I wanted to wish you anyway. 🙂

Comment by Ramona

Glad to see that someone else likes to spend the day at the grocers! 🙂 No matter how many times I go, I also seem to find something new and interesting.
Baked risotto does sound like a time saver and I like the ingredients. This dish looks well worth trying-yum! Enjoy the season!

Comment by Tina@flourtrader

HAHAHAHAHAH so glad to hear I’m not the only one who goes to the grocery store to leisurely stroll the aisles and look at everything on the shelves.

Comment by Joanne Ozug

A baked risotto? Now, this is genius!! I love risotto so much but often opt out of making it because of the time it requires at the stove. I am going to try your recipe this week during one of our crazy holiday nights to lighten the load. Thank you!!!

Comment by Maggie @ kitchie coo

Just making sure I have this right…4 Tablespoons cumin? So a quarter cup?

Comment by Anonymous

Sorry about that! Should be teaspoons. I do love cumin, but a quarter cup is a lot 🙂

Comment by alyssa

Perfect! I love cumin too, but that would be on the high end of what I’ve ever put in a recipe. Thanks for answering my question and have a great day!

Comment by Maggie @ kitchie coo

Made this last night Alyssa and it was delicious! I will admit I was skeptical about baking the risotto, but it came out beautifully! The rice was perfectly done and all that cumin was amazing. Thanks for a great week night recipe!

Comment by Maggie @ kitchie coo

I’m so glad you enjoyed it!

Comment by alyssa

This sounds so great, Alyssa! I made some pumpkin pasta with my last can of pumpkin puree this weekend. I need to buy more soon! This risotto sounds like such a winner!

Comment by Cassie @ bake your day

ohhh, I love risotto and with pumpkin?! This looks so yummy!!

Comment by Stephanie @ Eat. Drink. Love.

I have never used canned pumpkin puree too but after reading this post I think I’m buying the cans as well. risotto is our favorite (but kids prefer regular rice so just me and my husband)! Pumpkin flavor sound so delish!

Comment by Nami | Just One Cookbook

This looks terrific! I am like you – even if it’s just a single item needed at the grocery store – it’s up and down each aisle!

Comment by Ann

Love this delicious idea for risotto! I’m horrible at the grocery store (but especially Costco… the $100 store). I’m thinking of making a list of what I actually have in my freezer and my pantry for the new year and trying to start clearing some of that out. Make room for the new!

Comment by Lori @ RecipeGirl

Well, I’m a pumpkin-nut! This is an amazing risotto! So creamy and yummy and pumpkiny-delicious 🙂

Comment by Parsley Sage

Yum! What a recipe. This risotto look soo good.

Comment by Russell at Chasing Delicious




Leave a Reply

