Mom de Cuisine


Gingerbread Play Dough
December 17, 2011, 8:30 am
Filed under: Just for Fun | Tags: ,

I saw this recipe for gingerbread play dough on Pintrest not too long ago and added it to one of the hundreds of pins of things to make with the kids.  We were stuck in the house all last week, “C” was sick and my husband was out of town.  “M” was getting quite restless because we weren’t able to go out and play with friends, so I thought it was the perfect time to pull out this recipe. 

This was so great!  The house smelled like freshly baked ginger bread cookies all morning and I didn’t have to worry about my waist line (the stuff smells great, but just like all play dough tastes like crap.)  “M” happily spent the day making cakes, cookies, and pies. 

Gingerbread Play Dough

*Slightly adapted from Gingerbread Playdohfrom the Sweet Adventures of Sugarbelle

Ingredients:

1 cup all purpose flour

1/2 cup salt

2 teaspoon cream of tartar

1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

2 teaspoon ground ginger

1 teaspoon. ground nutmeg

1 teaspoon all spice

2 tablespoon vegetable oil

1 cup water

1 teaspoon lemon extract

Preparation:

In a medium bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients.  Stir in the wet ingredients and transfer mixture to a sauce pan.  Cook over medium low heat, stirring constantly.  The mixture will clump, but just keep stirring until a dough forms.  Remove dough from the pan and knead until smooth.  Store in an airtight container

 

p.s.  I’m linking up at Make Ahead Meals for Busy Mom’s blog.  Wanna see or link up too?  Click here.

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

How cute and fun! I think we can all get a little cabin fever over the winter months so this is a great idea to keep the kids occupied. I’m the room mother for my daughter’s preschool class and I have to make play dough for her entire class several times… I bought a 25lb of of flour at Costco so I was prepared. LOL! I love that you cut them out into Christmas trees. I think I may have just bought the same cookie cutters. 🙂

Comment by Ramona

Kids can get really restless around this time of year, so finding something that catches their interest can be difficult. The play dough is a great idea.
Speaking of restless. My 2 year old nephew disappeared for a little while at his house. He was eventually found-sitting in the dry bathtub with no clothes on and toilet paper strewn all over the bathroom. He was asked if he wanted to take a bath and he said nope. Perhaps that play dough would have been helpful in keeping him from going on that bathroom rampage. : ) Have a great weekend.

Comment by Tina@flourtrader

This is such a great idea and is a festive way to keep the kiddos entertained! And I just read Tina’s comment and totally LOL’d about her nephew! Too funny!

Comment by Stephanie @ Eat. Drink. Love.

I made this last year for my sons kindergarten class. It was so fun, and smelled so good!

Comment by Erin @ Dinners, Dishes, and Desserts

This is so much fun! I love pinterest, it’s so good for inspiration. This is perfect for kids and I bet it smells so good!

Comment by Cassie

That is such a cute idea! I don’t know any kids to make it for, but I’d happily play with it myself 🙂

Comment by The Smart Cookie Cook

That is SO clever! I love Pinterest – there are so many great ideas and talented people on it! I bet the house smelled like a dream!

Comment by Ann

I do love the smell of gingerbread mix. And baking them are so much fun!

Comment by penny aka jeroxie

This special playdough sounds so “delicious”….and I am afraid I might eat it… It’s a great activities when kids are stuck at home AND husband is on business trip… I often have that situation. I am keeping this recipe for activity idea for the holiday!

Comment by Nami | Just One Cookbook

This is such a wonderful idea….
My kids specially the younger one can really give me a hard time if he is not busy doing something and trust me me nothing can keep him busy for long.
I hope this can make him happy and make me relax a bit.

Comment by Reem | Simply Reem

How cool is this! I would want to eat it =o)

Comment by Erin @ Making Memories




Leave a Reply

