Mom de Cuisine


Pepperoni Pizza Pretzels
December 14, 2011, 11:02 am
Filed under: Snacks | Tags: ,

 

Before I started this blog, I knew that I wanted to post these pretzels. I first made them about a year ago after I received a copy of Food Network Magazine with a spread on soft pretzels. I knew “M” a lover of all things pepperoni would love the pepperoni pizza stuffed pretzels. I think I even made them just a few days after I received the magazine which is so not like me. I usually book mark recipes and then never come back to them. Anyway, “M” loved them. And I made them many times before we moved, I even brought them to parties and get togethers and they were always a hit.

 

 

I swore as soon as we moved into our villa that stuffed pretzels were top on my list of things to make. But, as frequently happens, life got busy and the thought of making the dough, stuffing the pretzels, and baking them off just seemed like more work than it was worth. Well I finally got around to making them, and now I’m thinking what the heck took me so long. I had previously used the recipe featured in the magazine by Guy Fieri, but I always thought the pretzels came out a bit tough. This time I decided to switch recipes and try Alton Brown’s method. Well, Alton, you have  yet to steer me wrong! Making the dough took less time than I anticipated (not including the time to let it rise, but that was just enough time for me and the kids to build a train track around and under the dining room table.) And for some reason, I remembered stuffing the pretzels to be very tedious, but it went fairly quickly. I will be making more pretzels again soon. Now that I have a great go-to recipe (and I usually have all of the ingredients on hand) my head is buzzing with other ideas for stuffings/dips/etc for them!

 

 

 

Pepperoni Pizza Pretzels

*Adapted from Alton Brown’s Homemade Soft Pretzels

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups warm water

 1 tablespoon sugar

2 teaspoons kosher salt

 1 package active dry yeast

 4 1/2 cups all-purpose flour 4

tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

1 cup mini pepperonis

1 cup shredded Italian blend cheese

Vegetable oil, for pan

10 cups water 2/3 cup baking soda

1 large egg yolk beaten with 1 tablespoon water

Sesame seeds to garnish

 

 

Preparation:

Combine the water, sugar and kosher salt in the bowl of a stand mixer and sprinkle the yeast on top. Allow it to sit for 5 minutes or until the mixture begins to foam. Add the flour and butter and, using the dough hook attachment, mix on low speed until well combined. Change to medium speed and knead until the dough is smooth and pulls away from the side of the bowl. Remove the dough from the bowl and then oil it well with vegetable oil. Return the dough to the bowl, cover with plastic wrap and sit in a warm place for approximately about one hour or until it doubles in size (mine sat for about 2 hours…we were really into building our train tracks so I lost track of time.)

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F. Line 2 sheet pans with parchment paper and lightly brush with the vegetable oil. Set aside.

 

 

Once the dough has doubled, turn the dough out onto a slightly oiled work surface. I find it’s easiest to work with a quarter of the dough at a time. Roll dough into a long rectangle. Using a pizza cutter, slice dough into one inch rectangles. Divide the pepperoni and cheese evenly among each rectangle. Fold the rectangle over to enclose the filling, making sure to pinch the seams. Make a U-shape with the rope, holding the ends of the rope, cross them over each other and press onto the bottom of the U in order to form the shape of a pretzel. Place onto the parchment-lined half sheet pan. Repeat with all of the remaining dough (keep the formed pretzels covered with a towel to prevent them from drying out. Bring the 10 cups of water and baking soda to a rolling boil. Once the water boils, place pretzels into the water (carefully!) for 30 seconds. Remove with a slotted spoon to the prepared baking sheets. Brush with egg mixture and sprinkle sesame seeds on top. Continue with the remaining pretzels. Bake for 11-14 minutes, or until the pretzels are golden brown.

 

Serve warm with marinara sauce for dipping.

 

13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I tip my hat off to you here for making your dough from scratch! I have made these too… but I used the prepared pizza dough by Pillsbury. You know I’m all about the semi-homemade thing when it comes to baking. LOL! These look even fluffier than the Pillsbury kind.. you’re dough is obviously better than theirs!

Comment by Ramona

While I have made soft pretzels before, I have not made them with a filling, but you can bet my next batch will have a filling! Thanks for the inspiration on that. As far as the dough, I have found in which I like the taste, but the texture and presentation was lacking. I may have to try the recipe you used here, yours look amazing!
Have a great day.

Comment by Tina@flourtrader

I’ve been too chicken to try making soft pretzels from scratch but this recipe looks too good to pass up! Thanks for sharing.

Comment by Eating Deliciously

Oh man, I’m drooling. These remind me of the ones they sell at the Auntie Anne’s pretzel stands in the mall. I unfortunately never got to try a pepperoni pretzel before going vegetarian. I can only imagine how heavenly they are!

Comment by The Smart Cookie Cook

Yum!! I love soft pretzels. Pairing them with pizza toppings is such a great idea!

Comment by Erin @ Dinners, Dishes, and Desserts

This is so fun…what a great way to add a fun flavor to pretzels. So kid friendly too!

Comment by Cassie @ bake your day

A fantastic twist on pretzels. I have the patience for home made dough and for foldovers but I am not sure if I would have done the stuffed pretzel shapes! well done!

Comment by Lori

Ohh, as if just plain old soft pretzels weren’t already good, then you make these! I would love to serve these at my next girls night when we are craving some pizza goodness!

Comment by Stephanie @ Eat. Drink. Love.

These are such a wonderful party finger food and I love it! I can make ones with cheese only and pepperoni. I can totally see these are popular at the party! They look mess-free than pizza. 😉

Comment by Nami | Just One Cookbook

They sure do look delicious! I know what you mean about life getting in the way! There are about 5 dishes that I keep saying I’m going to make…I’m behind!

Comment by Cooking Healthy For Me

I always drool over your food pics

Comment by Loveforfood

Mmmm! I like the way ‘M’ thinks 🙂 Those look super yummy! So glad you posted them. And I’m kind of jealous that you got to spend your rising-time building a train track. How fun is that!?

Comment by Parsley Sage

Alyssa, these pizza pretzels look so delicious and fun! What a great family cooking project for the holidays…

Comment by Kelly @ Inspired Edibles




Leave a Reply

