Mom de Cuisine


Make-Ahead Monday: Southwestern Salisbury Steak
November 21, 2011, 11:09 am
Filed under: Beef, Main Course | Tags:

 

With Thanksgiving quickly approaching I’ve been trying to avoid shopping for groceries other than what’s planned for the big meal, and instead making due with what we already have in the freezer.  A while back my husband bought a big bag of premade hamburger patties when he found them on sale.  Back in the States, this is something that we would have never purchased.  I think we each make a pretty decent hamburger, definitely better than the premade variety.  However, the beef here just isn’t the same.  I’m told it tastes different because most of the beef comes fromNew Zealand and the cows eat different grass.  I’m not sure if that’s true, but needless to say, I’m not a fan of the taste of the beef here.  Now, I don’t mean to offend.  I’m sure if this is the kind of beef you’ve been eating and then went to the States and ordered a steak, it would probably taste funny to you too. 

So when my husband saw the American premade patties, he bought them, thinking we might get homesick for a good burger at some point.  Well this big bag of beef patties has been sitting in my freezer for a while.  I’ve thought about trying to do several things with them, but just kept going back to Salisbury steak.  I love onions; my husband loves mushrooms, so easy dinner.  Well as I started to gather the ingredients, I really wasn’t excited about making or eating it for dinner.  I thought well maybe I’ll add some spice, so I grabbed the chipotle hot sauce.  Then if I add the chipotle, I should add some cumin too; but if I add cumin, cilantro needs to go with it.  Before I realized it, I had changed the whole base for Salisbury steak.  Well now I had something for everyone.  “E” likes mushrooms, I like onions, “M” likes spicy.  Oh but then there is “C”….Oh my son doesn’t like anything.  I’m sure he will eat only the garlic toast I made to go with it.  Well three out of four isn’t bad.

I have to say, that although I ended up giving this a Southwestern twist, it still maintained the integrity of Salisbury steak.  It still had the same base of a ground beef patty with onions and mushrooms, it was just so much better.  I feel that if I had been on Top Chef and the challenge was to reinvent Salisbury steak, I probably wouldn’t get sent home for this one 🙂

 

 

Southwestern Salisbury Steak

 

Ingredients:

6 premade, uncooked beef patties

2 onions, sliced

1 lb mushrooms, sliced

1 link chorizo sausage, diced

1 4oz can green chilies

1/2 cup cilantro cooking base

4 tablespoons chipotle hot sauce

4 tablespoons cumin

2 tablespoons garlic powder

2 tablespoons lime juice

4 cups beef stock

3 tablespoons corn starch

Fresh cilantro to garnish

 

Preparation:

Turn on slow cooker on high and add the chorizo, onions and mushrooms.  Allow them to cook until they start to sweat a little.  Add the chilies, hot sauce, cilantro cooking base, cumin, garlic powder and lime juice.  Add cornstarch and put the patties on top.  Pour the beef stock over everything.  Allow steaks to cook on high for 3 hours or on low for 6. 

Serve with mashed potatoes, or on top of garlic toast.  Garnish with fresh cilantro.

 

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am so glad to find this recipe. Being from Texas, southwestern flavors are always welcome in this house. Also I am not really thrilled with the standard salisbury steak dishes as we have in the US. Your version does sound much more flavorful and well worth a try. I have definitely saved this one! Great post.

Comment by Tina@flourtrader

I have not had a Salisbury steak in ages. This reminds me of my childhood. YUM!! I do love the new flavor spin you put on it. Makes me more my style now. 🙂

Comment by Anonymous

That sounds amazing – sone interesting ingredients in the, e.g. the lime juice – I bet it works really well though!

Comment by Ruth

What a great recipe! I’ve been trying to do the same thing…I want to clean out some of my freezer, fridge AND pantry! I need more room! The salisbury steaks look tasty!

Comment by Ann

This is the most creative way to prep hamburger patties I’ve seen. This will be the go-to recipe for leftover frozen patties after the next party.

Comment by Shen @ JustOneCookbook

I just popped over to tell you have an award at my site… just realized my comment above came in as anonymous. : ( Hope I don’t always come in as anonymous.

Comment by Ramona

I love this salisbury steak recipe! As a line cook I had to make salisbury steak for the customers, I was not a fan of the recipe the previous chef had left behind for us. Wish I had this south western twist to it. Looks delicious! Thanks for sharing, have a beautiful day! (Love your site by the way, your daughter is ADORABLE!!) =]

Comment by FreeSpiritEater

It sounds wonderful! My kids love Salisbury Steak but I’ve never made it. I’ll have to give it a try. Thanks!

Comment by Erin @ Making Memories




Leave a Reply

