Mom de Cuisine


Make-Ahead Monday: Jambalaya Casserole
November 9, 2011, 10:20 am
Filed under: Main Course, Pasta & Rice, Turkey | Tags: ,

 

Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know it’s Wednesday when I’m posting this “make ahead Monday” dish.  To be honest, I’ve been so busy playing catch up that we’ve been ordering delivery from our favorite kabob place more than I’ve been cooking.  But better late than never, right?  I’m going to keep this post short and sweet because I am exhausted and still have a to-do list longer than I care to think about. 

I’ve been planning to make this casserole for a few weeks now, but I finally got around to doing it the other day.  I wanted to make some kind of baked rice casserole, for a while, but my husband who says he hates rice (lie) has been adamant that I don’t.  Well, I thought if I make a rice dish that he likes otherwise into a casserole maybe he wouldn’t mind (I also didn’t tell him what I was making ahead of time so he wouldn’t be able to protest.)   I would call this casserole a success, not because my husband didn’t protest to eating a rice casserole (which he didn’t) but because “C” also ate it!  Well, “C” ate all of the pieces of turkey out of his portion.  This was a big deal because “C” doesn’t eat anything.  His diet is fruit, chips, cereal, french fries and occasionally bread.  Maybe we’ve made a bit of a break through in my deciding to no longer be a short order cook because last night, everyone ate the same meal.  Maybe.

Jambalaya Casserole

Ingredients:

1 green bell pepper, diced

1 stalk of celery, diced

1 onion, diced

2 cups cooked, diced turkey breast

1 cup diced cooked sausage (andoulle is best, but it was unavailable, so I used a beef kielbasa)

1 can diced tomatoes with roasted garlic

3 cups white rice

6 cups low sodium chicken stock

3 table spoons tomato paste

2 tablespoons Zatarains seasoning

Preparation:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees

Combine the first seven ingredients in a large casserole dish.  Mix the stock, tomato paste, and zatarains.  Pour over the rice mixture and bake, covered for 45 minutes, or until the rice is tender.  Allow the casserole to cool 10 minutes before serving.

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This looks so rich and hearty! Zatarains season is the best and you put it to great use in this dish. Bravo that C liked this. I have saved this recipe-yum!
I hope you have some down time soon so you can relax a little.

Comment by Tina@flourtrader

Okay.. now I have to go to the store and find this Zatarains seasoning. I just made a Cajun dish and could have used it. This Jambalaya Casserole looks fantastic. How can your husband hate rice? I LOVE rice. I’m glad you made him try it anyway. Wives know best. 🙂 Isn’t it wonderful when everyone just sits down and eats the same meal!! I sometimes end up being a short order cook around here too. I’m glad it was a great success… it’s definitely a success in my book!!

Comment by Ramona

I LOVE LOVE LOVE jambalaya…this is a great preparation!

Comment by Joanne

Jambalaya is one of the dishes that I’ve been wanting to make. I like your make-ahead series Alyssa! I also like your casserole… When I start making more casserole I have a good reason to buy cute one like this! 🙂

Comment by Nami | Just One Cookbook

I love jamabalya and even more I love the thought of making it ahead of time. This sounds delicious!

Comment by Bake Your Day

I always say my meals are a success if my husband likes it and especially if he gets seconds! This casserole looks so hearty and flavorful!

Comment by Stephanie

This looks delicious – I am familiar with Zatarians – but I’ve never used it! I have a friend who swears by it!

Comment by Ann

This looks fabulous. I am looking for new make ahead ideas! I am wondering about a crock pot version…I wonder what I can cook up?

Comment by Anonymous

I was under the impression that jambalaya was tough to make but you made it sound so easy.

Comment by kankana




Leave a Reply

