Mom de Cuisine


Rose and Butter Cookies
October 23, 2011, 3:56 am
Filed under: Dessert | Tags: , ,

 

 

Last week I mentioned that I took a bit of time away from the kitchen and blogging to enjoy the weekend with my family.  Among last weekends many activities was a trip to the Manama Souq.  I’ve wanted to find the spice section of the souq, despite my husband’s firm belief that a spice section did not exist.  Well, we found it.  It’s not like what you picture of a typical open air spice market, like Marrakech; but more like a small street lined with shops that have large bags of many types of dried spices and nuts inside.  We went into one and the owner was nice enough to show me some of the different spices and items they had.  There were many that I knew, like sage, and some I’ve never heard of actually cooking with, like frankincense.  In one corner he had a few large bags of dried flowers.  I couldn’t resist, the dried rose petals were so pretty and so fragrant.  I asked him what you use them for and he told me they can be added to tea and have medicinal power for curing headaches. So we left the shop with a few kilos of spices, including the rose petals (all for 700 fills, I might add…that’s about $2!) 

So when we got home, I knew I wanted to make something with the roses.  I started searching recipes and found very few that sounded great or peaked my interest.  I thought about what I was going to do with the roses for days.  Then I remembered when I was a kid, my grandmother used to make sugar cookies and add the leaves to from the marigolds we used to grow in our garden.  I thought it was so fun to be eating flowers and the cookies were so pretty with the dots of yellow and orange petals. 

Of course, I pulled out the cook book she used to use when I was a kid, The Joy of Cooking, 1952 edition.  It’s a great throw back cookbook that has recipes as well as plenty of guides as to what a good mid-century house wife ought to do.  I found what I’m pretty sure was the recipe we used to make together but substituted my rose petals for the marigold.  My husband thought they should be sweeter, but they were almost as I remembered them to be. 

 

Oh and before I forget, the Diana at Bromography interviewed me!  Please head over to their blog and check it out!!!!

 

 

Rose and Butter Cookies

*adapted from The Joy of Cooking

 

Ingredients:

6 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened

1/3 cup granulated sugar

1 egg

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon grated lemon rind

1/2 tablespoon ground cinnamon

1 cup sifted flour

1/3 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons dried rose petals

 

Preparation:

 Blend until creamy the butter and sugar.  Beat in the remaining ingredients.  Chill the dough for 3-4 hours.  Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and shape the dough into one-inch balls.  Flatten with lightly floured hands and place on a prepared cookie sheet.  Bake for 10-12 minutes or until the edges are slightly brown. 

 

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

what a bright and yet comforting combination, these sound lovely!

Comment by Michelle

I have heard of using rose water in baking, but not rose petals. You have taught me something new. : ) I am also so jealous that you got to any place that has shops lined up with spices…how cool! Hope you had a lovely vacation with your family. : )

Comment by Ramona

An open air spice market-you are a lucky girl. I would love to go there and explore, I am sure that they had some hard to find spices!
This is a creative way to spice up cookies, I am trying to imaging the taste. Well done.

Comment by Tina@flourtrader

These sound delicious! I love that there is a hint of lemon in there, too. Thank you for sharing.

Comment by Jessica | Oh Cake

These cookies look so good, Alyssa! I have never tried using rose in my baking, but I really want to try it! Btw, I so loved your interview with Diana!

Comment by Stephanie

Beautiful cookies and presentation. Your photos make me wish I had some to munch on right now, but sadly I am empty-handed. Rose petals in the ingredients? Love it!

Comment by Nicole @ Bake Me Blush

I have never cooked with rose petals but it sounds interesting. Need to figure out where can I buy these edible petals.

Comment by kankana

What an interesting addition to cookies! So what do rose petals taste like? The cookies are beautiful! Enjoyed reading your interview too!

Comment by Shay

These look amazing…what a great addition, so unique. I need to try this out!

Comment by Bake Your Day

These are awesome. I’ve got task – what was the flavor like? Do you taste the flower? or does the cinnamon give it a baked good taste? I’ve never had it before, so I’m very curious.

Thanks! and they’re really beautiful!

Comment by Ann

I should have explained more about the rose petals, my apologies to everyone who inquired. They smell like you would imagine a rose to smell like. I was worried that the taste would be very strong because the smell was quiet strong, but the flavor is very mild. It tastes the way it smells, but not soapy, if that makes since. I actually couldn’t taste them much in the cookies, so next time I will probably add more!

Comment by alyssa




Leave a Reply

