Mom de Cuisine


Sweet Potato and Sausage Risotto
October 12, 2011, 5:51 am
Filed under: Main Course, Pasta & Rice, Pasta & Rice | Tags: , ,

Yesterday after I finish snapping a few pictures of dinner, “M” in all of her three years comes up to me and strikes up a conversation that went like this:

M: Mommy, whacha doing?”

Me: “I’m finishing up dinner, what are you doing?”

M: “What’s for dinner?”

Me: “Cheesy rice with sweet potatoes and sausage”

M: “Ohhhh that sounds delicious! Rice is my favorite….but Mommy there is just one problem.”

Me: “Oh yeah, what’s the problem?”

M: “My brother doesn’t like rice, make something else!”

 It’s true, my son is probably the pickiest eater on the planet and he won’t eat rice.  I offer it to him when ever I make it, but his response is always the same, “No Ma, don’t want it!”  Oh well, what’s a Mom to do?  I wish I had some great story about how this risotto was the one that turned him into the carb-lover I know is in there somewhere, but it’s not.  This was one of the few nights my husband picked something up for him from work. 

This risotto was one of those dishes that came together from things I already had on hand.  I had planned to make risotto the old fashioned way, you know ladling hot broth into the rice, stirring until it’s absorbed and repeat until the risotto is cooked.  But as I started prepping dinner, I was going through a to-do list in my head of everything else I had to get done that night.  Then I glanced over and saw my copy of Around My French Table and had, as Oprah would say, an “Ah Ha” moment.  A few weeks back the French Fridays with Dorie recipe was Creamy, Cheesy, Garlicky Rice with Spinach (click here to see my version.)  Her French version of risotto doesn’t require constant stirring and attention, but comes out creamy and cheesy.  This was a great, comforting meal and I’m glad this recipe adapted well to other flavors. 

Sweet Potato and Sausage Risotto

*Adapted from Creamy, Cheesy, Garlicky Rice with Spinach from Around My French Table by Dorie Greenspan

Ingredients:

1 lb Italian sausage, removed from casings

1 onion, diced

1 1lb sweet potato, peeled and diced

1 tablespoon Italian seasoning

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 cups Arborio rice

7 cups chicken stock

1/4 cup shredded provolone

1/4 cup milk

Fried sage leaves for garnish, optional

Preparation:

Brown sausage and onions over medium high heat and set aside.  While sausage browns, heat the oil and cook the sweet potatoes with the Italian spice until the potatoes are crisp on the outside and soft on the inside, about 15 minutes.  Set aside.

To cook the rice, bring chicken stock to a boil. Stir in the rice and cover.  Reduce the heat to low and allow the rice to cook, undisturbed until most of the liquid is evaporated about 25 minutes.  Turn off the heat and allow the rice to finish absorbing the liquid.  Stir the sausage, milk and cheese into the rice until the cheese melts.  Gently fold in the sweet potatoes and serve with fried sage leaves immediately. 

14 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Sweet potato risotto sounds amazing! I also loved the dialogue at the beginning! LOL! 😀

Comment by tiffany

The description of this is making me hungry. I love risotto and the add ins you have flavored it with are amazing! Also, it is a bonus that you don’t have to do all that stirring. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

Comment by Tina@flourtrader

HA!! I think our sons would get along very well. My son won’t touch rice either. I think this sounds wonderful though!

Comment by Erin @ Dinners, Dishes and Desserts

How cute is this story?! I wish I didn’t like carbs. Hopefully your little one will come around soon because I bet this risotto was really yummy!

Comment by Stephanie

Really stunning! I love that you had such amazing ingredients on hand and came up with a winner! Your kids sound adorable!

Comment by Ann

This looks like a bowl filled with love that is perfect for the cooler months of the middle eastern winter. I want to grab a spoon and a blanket and curl up to this and some music 🙂

Comment by Chef and Steward

I love making risotto. This combination sounds fantastic and is one that my husband would really enjoy. Thanks for sharing, your kids sound adorable!

Comment by Bake Your Day

Italian sausage and sweet potatoes sounds like an interesting combo. I also like that the recipe uses provolone cheese. Most risottos I’ve made use some kind of fancy, expensive cheese that ends up being too pungent and overpowers the dish.

Comment by The Kitchen Noob

Adding sweet potatoes in the risotto! That sounds great! It’s hard to make everyone happy, isn’t it. I face the same conversation/situation with my family too… but your risotto will be a winner in my house! 😉

Comment by Nami | Just One Cookbook

In Italy we make pumpkin (or squash) and sausage risotto (I ate it today at lunch :P)… I would definitely try the sweet potato version 🙂

PS: Have you ever tried to make rice patties (croquettes or meat and rice patties), to test if your son would eat it that way?

Comment by Giulietta | Alterkitchen

I’ve thought about trying to make a rice patty to see if I could get him to eat it that way, just haven’t gotten around to it, thanks for the suggestion!

Comment by alyssa

You’re welcome… I always start with the assumption that children always eat patties 😀

Comment by Giulietta | Alterkitchen

i really like your food pictures and want to invite you to try out tastingspot.com. it’s for anyone that just wants another place to submit photos and share it will other foodies. It’s still in beta version, but would love for you to start adding some photos and help get it going.

Comment by foodie @ Tasting Spot

Love the conversation you 2 had!! The dish looks fantastic! Sweet potato risotto sounds perfect right about now!

Comment by Meghan




Leave a Reply

