Mom de Cuisine


Make-Ahead Monday: Curried Chicken “Hot Pockets”
October 10, 2011, 12:17 pm
Filed under: Chicken, Main Course, Snacks | Tags: , ,

I picked up the latest copy of Food Network Magazine this weekend and of course, I bookmarked tons of recipes.  One of their features was for different versions of a DIY hot pocket.  I used to love those things as a kid; my favorite was pepperoni Pizza.  I knew that this would be a great make-ahead meal.  I tried it out once over the weekend with eggs, bacon, cheese, and pesto. It was great.  I thought I’d redo my childhood favorite for an easy dinner, but the curried chicken pockets in the magazine were stuck in my head. 

When I went to pick up another loaf of refrigerated French bread dough (which I easily found in only one trip, YAY!) I passed by the spice isle and the hot curry powder was just calling my name.  So I decided, never mind to pizza hot pockets, I was going to give the curried chicken salad a try.  My experience eating curries is limited and my experience cooking with it is nonexistent so I was very unsure of what to expect.  I tried to follow FNM’s recipe, but when I mixed the chicken salad, I felt that it still lacked a strong curry flavor that I was expecting, so I added aLOTmore. 

Overall, this was a great meal that came together very quickly.  It was easy enough to make a head of time and just pop it in the oven when we got home.  By the time the kids are finished washing their hands and sit down at the table, fresh, homemade Hot Pockets will await them!

Curried Chicken “Hot Pockets”

*adapted from Food Network Magazine

 

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon vegetable oil, plus more for brushing

1 small onion, chopped

2 tablespoons curry powder

1/2 teaspoon freshly grated ginger

1 clove garlic

1 cup shredded rotisserie chicken

1/4 cup fresh spinach

1/2 cup miracle whip (or mayo or yogurt)

2 tablespoons cilantro, chopped

1 teaspoon lime juice

Flour for dusting

11 oz. tube refrigerated French bread

1 egg

 

Preparation:

Heat the vegetable oil in a medium skillet over medium heat.  Add the onion, curry powder, ginger and garlic.  Cook until fragrant, about one to two minutes.  Remove from the heat and stir in the chicken.

Stir in the cilantro, spinach, miracle whip, lime juice to the chicken and let the mixture cool completely. 

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees and brush a baking sheet lightly with oil.  On a floured surface, roll out the bread dough to a 6×8 inch rectangle. Divide in fourths.  Put one quarter of the filling inside the center of each rectangle.  Fold over the two shorter sides, then the longer sides to enclose the filling.  Pinch the edges to seal.    Repeat with the remaining dough and filling.  Place the packets seem side down on the baking sheet.  Brush the bread with the beaten egg and bake for 10-15 minutes, or until the pockets are golden brown. 

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

How creative-the idea of using a curry filling here is a delicious one. Great way to get the curry flavor into a handheld food that you can take on the go. I would love to have a few of these for lunch-thanks for sharing this tasty gem!

Comment by Tina@flourtrader

Hi, I’m a first time visitor. Enjoyed reading your post. Hot pockets are always such a favorite. I’m still exploring the tastes and flavors of curry. I’ll be back to read mire. Thanks

Comment by Mario

I love the idea. A little like a Jamaican Pattie. What
a great on the go food.

Comment by The Culinary Lens

That looks seriously delicious! I love that you saw an ingredient and completely changed directions….delicious!

Comment by Ann

I don’t really like the boxed hot pockets, but I would totally eat this one! It looks so good!

Comment by Stephanie

I had to come back and tell you….THANK YOU! That was the nicest comment you wrote on the enchilada post. Honestly, you made my day.

Such a nice thing to do – and coming from such an amazing blogger as you – it makes it all the more special!

*sigh* ….thanks!
Ann

Comment by Ann

These sound amazing! Super creative, and so good!

Comment by Erin @ Dinners, Dishes and Desserts

I bought this magazine for that same reason! Hmmm, where or where did I put it? That’s gonna drive me crazy. These look fantastic. Pepperoni hot pockets were my favorite too!

Comment by Dee at Deelicious Sweets

Oooh I saw that in the magazine and knew I had to try it but haven’t gotten to it yet. Looks great!

Comment by realfunfood

What a great idea! I need to find refrigerated French bread dough to make this yummy hot pockets!

Comment by Nami | Just One Cookbook

I can’t tell you how many hot pockets I ate growing up LOL. I wouldn’t touch one of those things now though. I would however definitely try the homemade version!

Comment by Joanne

Okay… now that’s making me drool! Those looks fantastic. Talk about your curry on the go. Perfect. : )

Comment by Ramona




Leave a Reply

