Mom de Cuisine


Caramel Apple Frozen Yogurt
October 6, 2011, 1:12 pm
Filed under: Dessert | Tags: , ,

Our pool is finally finished about a month late (don’t get me started) so my husband wants to have a pool party to celebrate.  The weather is cooling down a bit here, but it’s still close to 90 degrees at 9 am.  So with a nod to “cooler” fall temperatures, while still keeping in mind that it’s hot, I thought I’d pull out my ice cream maker and make some caramel apple frozen yogurt.  But I should tell you that I’m not a big fan of caramel apples.  I hate that the caramel get stuck in your teeth and after you’ve eaten all of the sugary stuff of the outside, all you’re left with is a boring apple on a stick.  Oh, and last fall when my husband tried to make caramel apples with the kids (who were one and two at the time) it ended up being a big mess that no one wanted to eat.  Those apples sat in my ‘fridge for weeks. 

This time around, I thought frozen yogurt would be a healthy, dentist friendly way for everyone to enjoy an inherently fall treat.  I’ve had this idea in my head for weeks for our pool party (did I mention it was supposed to be done over a month ago?!?) and I was so happy with the way it turned out.  It really tastes like a caramel apple.  I had a recipe I scribbled down on a piece of paper long ago for a brown sugar caramel sauce that tastes like caramel, but isn’t as chewy.  I can’t remember what I first used it for, but I remember thinking that the recipe was crappy because the caramel is thinner than most dipping caramel sauces.  However, for this recipe, because the frozen yogurt is so delicate, it worked perfectly.  That and I didn’t have any granulated sugar, the last place I went grocery shopping was out.  Yes, you read that right; they were out of sugar and didn’t know when they would be getting more. 

Anyway, my husband plans on playing grill master all weekend, but of course, he can’t be the only one to make something.  I’m sure at some point during the weekend I’ll push him a side so I can play on the grill for a while, but I’m going to try to play nice and let him cook for me.  Hopefully he will enjoy this sweet treat after sweating over the hot grill!

Caramel Apple Frozen Yogurt

 

Ingredients:

4 cups apple juice (use organic, it tends to have a stronger apple flavor)

250 g low fat Greek yogurt

1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar

4 tablespoons flour

1 cup boiling water

Pinch of salt

2 tablespoons unsalted butter

2 tablespoons milk (I used 2% for a thinner sauce)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

 

Preparation:

To make the frozen yogurt:  Combine apple juice and Greek yogurt in an ice cream maker.  Follow manufacturer instructions.  Freeze for an additional hour to firm yogurt.

While the yogurt is churning, make the caramel sauce.  Mix the sugar and flour in a saucepan until combined.  Pour in boiling water and salt.  Stir over medium high heat for 7-8 minutes, or until sugar mixture is thick, being careful not to let it burn.  Remove from heat and stir in milk and butter until combined.  Cool to room temperature. 

To assemble the caramel apple yogurt:  If using, add nuts to the yogurt.  Swirl in 2/3 of the caramel sauce.  Serve the remaining sauce on the side. 

13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Beautiful frozen yogurt! Love the idea of putting caramel apples in a frozen treat!

Comment by Erin @ Dinners, Dishes and Desserts

This is a tasty treat! Frozen yogurt accented with these delicious fall flavors is irresistible-great post.

Comment by Tina@flourtrader

How fun! I love caramel apples, this sounds like a great fall treat!

Comment by Cassie l Bake Your Day

I’m with you on the caramel apples. I hate that once you eat the outside, the fun is gone! This frozen yogurt looks delicious! I like this cool fall treat for those of us living in warmer climates!

Comment by Stephanie

This sounds really good! I’m jealous of the hot weather where you live 😉

Comment by SarahCupcake

That looks sooo good! 🙂

Comment by Anka

This looks delicious! Are you going to post pics of your pool? It’s not quite that hot here in North Florida – but not too far off!

Comment by Ann

I have become ADDICTED to fro-yo… this is an awesome fall version! 😀

Comment by tiffany

Sounds really good! You’ve done it again!!

Comment by Shay

Heavenly – this looks so good! Bravo for a great recipe!

Comment by bloomeveryday

I love frozen yogurt, and yours seems absolutely delicious! 🙂

Comment by Giulietta | Alterkitchen

oh my, i want one too! even though i’ve never tasted caramel apple, i love both apples and caramel, so I can just imagine the taste. yummy! Great idea, thanks for sharing!

Comment by Shannon@JustAsDelish

Oh this looks very nice and healthy!

Comment by startingoveringermany




Leave a Reply

