Mom de Cuisine


Make-Ahead Monday: Slow Cooker Beef and Broccoli with Sesame Noodles
October 4, 2011, 3:07 am
Filed under: Beef, Main Course | Tags: , , ,

I know, I’m a day late, but Monday was one crazy day for us.  Just when I think I’m getting used to our new schedules and a routine, my hubby throws a curve ball into it.  Needless to say, this make-ahead meal was truly needed.  With that being said, it will probably take me all day today (with three or more cups of coffee) to recover, so I’ll keep this short and sweet. 

I love Chinese take out, but we rarely eat it because it’s just not so healthy.   Any time we can make a lighter version at home, I’m all about it!  My version is definitely not authentic (I used a whole roast that I shredded up) but it was light and tasty for a weeknight meal.  I think the only change I would make next time would be to add cornstarch into the broth so it would be a bit thicker.  But even my husband, who usually prefers that I don’t try to recreate take out, liked this one. 

Slow Cooker Beef and Broccoli

Ingredients:

2 lb Beef roast

4 cups beef stalk

2 onions, diced

4 cloves garlic, diced

1 tablespoon lemon grass (I used the jarred stuff, but you can use fresh)

3 tablespoons soy sauce, plus extra for dipping

1/2 cup hoi sin sauce

1 teaspoon Chinese five spice powder

1 cup frozen broccoli florets

1 package linguini noodles

2-3 tablespoons sesame oil

Green onion and sesame seeds to garnish

Sriracha for dipping

Preparation:

Combine roast, and next seven ingredients in your slow cooker.  Cook on high heat for 5-6 hours, or until the roast is fork tender.  Toss in the broccoli and cook an additional 10 minutes or until the broccoli is warmed through.

Cook the noodles in salted water, according to package instructions.  Drain and toss with sesame oil and sesame seeds. 

To serve:  combine equal parts soy and sriracha (I like spicy) in a small dipping bowl.  Top with green onion and sesame seeds, and set aside.  Place noodles on a plate and top with beef and broccoli. Top with more sesame seeds and green onion.  Use the dipping sauce for extra kick and flavor!

*Noodles and dipping sauce can be prepared ahead of time and served room temperature or re-warmed.

Comments Off on Make-Ahead Monday: Slow Cooker Beef and Broccoli with Sesame Noodles





Comments are closed.



