Mom de Cuisine


Banana Biscuits with Cranberry Compote
October 2, 2011, 8:13 am
Filed under: Breakfast | Tags: , , ,

 

 

I know what you’re thinking:  I thought the title of this post was Banana Biscuits, not Banana Muffins?!  Well I had quite a hard time with it; in fact I’ve spent all morning trying to decide what to call these banana things.  You see, it all started when once again, I have bananas that no one wants to eat.  I didn’t want to make bread. I thought about scones, but my hubby shot that down.  I’ve got a recipe for sweet potato biscuits that I’ve been meaning to make, but I thought I could substitute bananas no problem.  Wrong!  Maybe smashed bananas are runnier than smashed sweet potatoes, maybe it just wasn’t the best biscuit recipe, I don’t know.  They taste like a biscuit with a hint of banana, but have the texture of a muffin. Either way, they taste good so I guess I can’t be too upset. 

Since the flavor of the bimuffin, muffiscuit, whatever, was pretty mild so I decided to top them with quick stove top compote made of dried cranberries.  The sweet tartness of the cranberries complemented the buttery-banana flavor well. 

 

 

On an entirely different note, I would like to thank Shannon at Just as Delish for passing along the Versatile Blogger Award!  To see the bloggers I passed along the award to and my seven facts, click here.  Thanks again, Shannon!!!

 

 

Banana Biscuits with Cranberry Compote:

*Adapted from Sweet Potato Biscuits at epicurious.com

 

Ingredients:

2 Ripe bananas, smashed

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1/4 cup toasted wheat germ

1 tablespoon (packed) dark brown sugar

2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Pinch of ground nutmeg

8 tablespoons (1 stick) chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch cubes, plus 2 tablespoons butter, melted

1/3 cup chilled milk

1 cup dried cranberries

Zest of one lemon

1 tablespoon sugar

 

Preparation:

To make the biscuits: Preheat to 425°F. Butter a muffin tin pan.

Whisk flour and next 5 ingredients in large bowl. Add cubed butter to flour mixture; toss to coat and rub in with fingertips until mixture resembles coarse meal. Whisk 3/4 cup mashed bananas and milk in medium bowl. Add to flour mixture; toss with fork.  Divide evenly among muffin tins.  Bake 10-15 minutes, or until tops are browned, and a toothpick can be inserted and come out clean.  Cool on a wire rack

 

 

 

While the biscuits bake, prepare the compote:  Place cranberries, zest, and sugar in a small pot.  Cover with water.  Boil until water reduces, berries plump and burst, about 15 minutes.  With a wooden spoon, mash the rest of the berries to make thick compote. 

To serve:  Split slightly warm biscuits and spoon compote on top

 

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I think I like the muffiscuit name the most. Sometimes it’s difficult to figure out what difference a substitution will make.

Nonetheless I am sure these are goo and the cranberry copote is a wonderful addition.

Comment by The Culinary Lens

Such a great idea, this would be perfect to put out with guests over for breakfast. 🙂

Comment by bloomeveryday

Haha, I was wondering what a banana biscuit would be! Biscuit, muffin, it doesn’t matter to me because these look really good!

Comment by Stephanie

Well….you can call them what you want – I’ll call them delicious!

Comment by Ann

“Muffiscuits”… I have to agree– that’s the perfect name for these! Regardless of what their name is, they look delicious and I’d eat one in a heartbeat, especially with that compote. Yum.

Comment by Nicole @ Bake Me Blush

I have never made a compote, now I really want to! Those muffiscuits look delicious, too! Haha! Will have to give this a try soon! Great post!

Comment by Joshua Alan Burgin-Eaton from "Just Eat!"

Biscuits or muffins, they look delicious! Congrats on your award and completely understand the ‘3 or more cups of coffee’ mornings 🙂

Comment by Sandi

Yum – I love the idea of a sweet bicuity- muffin. And a compote can always help doll anything up.

Comment by Ashley@bakerbynature

Wow! I want to eat this…even though it’s not tea time or breakfast…this looks really good! And since the comment was off, let me write here that the beef & broccoli looks really good! Yours do look a lot healthier and I love it.

Comment by Nami | Just One Cookbook

Biscuits… muffins… po-TAY-toe, pa-TAH-toe 😀

Comment by tiffany

[…] } Banana MuffinsTropical Banana & Nut MuffinsBanana Crumb Muffins!Whole Wheat Banana Oat MuffinsBanana Biscuits with Cranberry CompoteBanana MuffinsTropical Banana & Nut MuffinsBanana Crumb Muffins!Whole Wheat Banana Oat […]

Pingback by Your Questions About Banana Muffins Easy




Leave a Reply

