Mom de Cuisine


Mexi-Monday: Mexican Chicken Noodle Soup
September 19, 2011, 3:53 pm
Filed under: Chicken, Main Course, Soups | Tags: , , , ,

 

 

I think that “Mexi-Monday” will have to become make-ahead Monday.  Now that Ramadan has ended, life has picked up in our host country.  We are able to get out more, meet new friends and enjoy our surroundings.  We’ve been getting home late after a day of play dates, coffees with friends, and ballet and music lessons.  Fortunately, this meal can be thrown together in minutes with a little preparation.  

I first made this soup for my husband some time ago when he was sick.  He needed soup, but doesn’t fancy chicken noodle so much, so I tried to make a version that even he couldn’t resist.  This has become one of the meals that he looks forward to me making.  It was nice for all of us to come home from a busy day to a comforting, homemade soup.   

 

Mexican Chicken Noodle Soup

 

Ingredients:

2 cups shredded chicken (you can use a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store, or shred up leftovers)

5 cups chicken stock

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 large onion, diced

1/4 cup jalapeno, diced (remove the seeds if you don’t want it too spicy)

2 cloves garlic

1 can fire roasted tomatoes

4 tablespoons cumin

1 chipotle chili, finely diced

2 cups dried egg noodles

Cilantro for garnish

Lime for garnish

 

Preparation:

In a heavy bottomed pot, sauté the onion and jalapeno in the olive oil over medium-high heat.  When soft, add the garlic, chipotle, and cumin and sauté for another 2-3 minutes.   Add chicken and tomatoes and stir in stock.    Simmer 20 minutes, or until liquid reduces slightly

While soup simmers, prepare noodles.  Add noodles to salted, boiling water.  Cook until just shy of al-dente.

Ladle soup in bowls.  Add noodles and top with cilantro and a squeeze of lime juice.

15 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Let me say… your Mexican chicken noodle soup looks MUCH tastier than ordinarily chicken noodle soup. I’m so making this version next time I make chicken noodle soup. It’s a must. Thanks for sharing this recipe Alyssa!!!

Comment by Nami | Just One Cookbook

Just buzzed this recipe! It looks really tasty!

Comment by the plaid and paisley kitchen

You and I are on the same wavelength today, lol! This soup sounds really good! I’m saving it. We love chicken noodle so I think this would be fun to try!

Comment by Stephanie

Your soup looks wonderful. Love soup.

Comment by Christine

I absolutely enjoy a nice hot noodle soup. Nothing can be more comforting that this 🙂

Comment by kankana

This sounds awesome! Soup heals all things and adding spice only makes it more potent 🙂 Very nice.

Comment by Tessa @ FlexYourFood

Great way to zip up the flavor in chicken noodle soup! I will need to try this one-yum!

Comment by Tina@flourtrader

Oh, this looks so wonderful – hearty and healthy. A good chicken soup is hard to beat! I’m keeping this delightful recipe 🙂

Comment by Kelly

Ooh, this looks good! I’d want you to make it for me, too!

Comment by Ann

How did I miss this? Oh goodness…this looks and sounds incredible. I’ve pinned it!

Comment by Shay

Loved this soup! I added less noodles, carrots, and topped with avocado, lime, and lots of cilantro. My family said, please remember to make again!!

Comment by Frefda

[…] Blogger Award!  To see the bloggers I passed along the award to and my seven facts, click here.  Thanks again, […]

Pingback by Banana Biscuits with Cranberry Compote « Mom de Cuisine

Have to try soon!

Comment by Anonymous

[…] a long time, but have always been intimidated by curry before.  I thought about just making my Mexican Chicken Noodle Soup but with turkey, but then I thought, no that’s lame.  I didn’t spend a whole day […]

Pingback by Spicy Curried Turkey Noodle Soup « Mom de Cuisine

An Easy Approach For Treatment Of Anything Soup…

Treatment sauces are great. It might seem like creating a cream sauces should be type of challenging, but actually it’s anything but. In point, whatever variety you’re trying to create – cream of poultry sauces, cream of spinach, crea…

Trackback by ukparty.info




Leave a Reply

