Mom de Cuisine


Lemony Bay Scallop Penne
September 17, 2011, 9:49 am
Filed under: Fish, Main Course, Pasta & Rice | Tags: , , , , ,

 

So remember my husband was recently gone on a trip?  You know, when I made him Oxtail Ragu as a welcome home?  Well I really shouldn’t have because while he was gone, he ate amazing food, probably better than what will ever come out of my kitchen.  The night he came home, my hubby told me all about the multi-course meal he had from this little hole-in-the-wall.  Seafood trays, fresh pastas and sauces, and plenty of wine to wash it all down.  Yeah, that’s right, he was in Italy….without me….but it was for work, so I guess that’s a viable excuse for leaving me out. 

But he knew I would be jealous that I missed out (yes, I was but I’m slowly getting over it) so he brought home some loot-pasta and a variety of cheeses.  He knows me well.  I’ve spent the last week thinking of what I wanted to make with my pasta and cheese.  I decided a light sauce and a little seafood would be great.  We could really taste the flavor of the pasta, and I used the peppery cheese which added a nice kick. 

 

 

Since we waited until the kiddos were in bed to eat (I couldn’t stand to let my picky kids push a plate of this away telling me they don’t like it without trying it) I had to quickly snap some pictures in my dark kitchen before we devoured it.  I debated posting this one, as the photos aren’t very clear, but I thought only other foodies would appreciate this almost as much as I did. 

 

Lemony Bay Scallop Penne

 

Ingredients

1 Package Penne

2 lbs Bay Scallops, patted dry

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 tablespoon butter

2 shallots, diced

2 cloves garlic, diced

1 lemon, zested and juiced

1 tablespoon flour

1 tablespoon white wine

1 cup white wine

1 cup milk (I used 2% because that’s what we had, but for a more rich taste, you could use whole milk or even whipping cream)

2 tablespoons cheese (I used the peppered cheese pictured, which tasted like a combination of sharp cheddar and parmesan)

Basil, for garnish

Salt/pepper to taste

 

Preparation:

Boil the penne in salted water until al-dente.  Drain and rinse

While the penne cooks, salt and pepper the scallops.  Heat olive oil over medium high heat and brown the scallops on both sides.  Remove from pan and set aside. Wipe pan clean. 

Add the butter to the scallops pan.  Melt and add the onions and sauté until tender.  Add garlic and lemon zest and sauté 2 more minutes, or until fragrant.  Add flour and cook 2-3 minutes.  Whisk in the white wine and lemon juice until sauce is smooth.  Simmer 5 minutes.  Add the milk and cheese and stir until cheese melts.  Add the scallops back to the sauce and cook 2-3 minutes or until scallops are cooked through.  Toss sauce with the pasta.  Salt/pepper to taste.  Top with fresh basil and serve.

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This sounds delicious, Alyssa! Definitely a meal me and my hubby would enjoy. I might have to swap the scallops for shrimp since he doesn’t like scallops (who doesn’t love scallops?!)

Comment by Stephanie

I thought I hated scallops for the longest time too. I told you I had the idea for something similar to your alfredo 🙂

Comment by alyssa

The peppery cheese addition sounds perfect!

Comment by Sandi

This sounds wonderful!! I can’t wait to try it!

Comment by MissEricka

I love scallops and pasta and this looks like a great combination!

Comment by Cucina49

Oh My Goodness I am drooling reading this!! This just went in my recipe folder!!! Thanks for posting!

Comment by the plaid and paisley kitchen

Oooo la la! This sounds delish! I bet the lemon lightened up the pasta and the rich peppered cheese added such lovely complexity! Sounds like a great dinner! 😀

Comment by tiffany

Love scallops, love pasta, love cheese. This sounds marvelous.

Comment by Tessa @ FlexYourFood

My kind of cooking!

Comment by Fredda




Leave a Reply

