Mom de Cuisine


Sausage, Egg, and Potato “Muffins”
September 15, 2011, 11:47 am
Filed under: Breakfast | Tags: , , , ,

 

A while ago my mom told me about a breakfast casserole she made and she finally sent me the recipe (HI MOM.)  It’s really more of a method than a recipe, as you can put whatever you have on hand in these “muffins.”  I had planned to make one large casserole in my new spring form pan.  I thought I could pop it right out and slice it up.  I would serve some as” breakfast for dinner” that night and freeze the rest for a quick breakfast during the week.  Well, I’ve never had a spring form pan before and  I didn’t know that it wasn’t sealed.  I arranged my filling neatly.  First a layer of potatoes, then the sausage, then the cheese.  I was smiling thinking how nice each layer would look when I sliced this bad boy up.  Oh, but then….I poured the egg mixture over the potatoes and sausage.  I turned around to open the oven door and heard dripping.  I turned back around to see a huge puddle of the egg mixture all over the counter top and dripping to the floor.  Sadly, I mixed up more eggs and milk and spooned the pretty potato, sausage and cheese into muffin cups. 

However, the smile returned to my face when I pulled these little “muffins” out of the oven some time later.  They smelled wonderful, the eggs had puffed up around the filling and the cheese on top was golden brown and crunchy.  While they weren’t as pretty as my original vision, they were delicious. 

 

 

Sausage, Egg and Potato “Muffins”

Ingredients:

3 large potatoes, scrubbed and cubed

2 red onions diced

3 tablespoons olive oil

1 tablespoon rosemary

2 cups Hillshire Farm Lite Sausage, diced

3 tablespoons green onion, diced

2 cups shredded cheese (I used half pepper jack, half cheddar), plus extra for topping

6 eggs

1 cup milk

Salt/pepper to taste

 

Preparation:

Toss the potatoes and red onions with oil, salt, pepper, and rosemary.  Roast in a 400 degree oven for 30 minutes, or just until the potatoes are tender and the onions caramelize (this can be done up to 2 days ahead of time, cooled and refrigerated.)

Sauté sausage over medium-high heat until crisp and edges start to brown.  Set aside and cool.  Once the sausage is cooled, toss with the green onion.

To assemble the muffins:  Divide potatoes, sausage, and cheese among 12 greased muffin cups.  Pour the egg mixture 2/3 of the way up each cup.  Sprinkle cheese on top of the muffins.

Bake “muffins” at 350 degrees for 35 minutes, or until the eggs are set and the cheese on top starts to brown.

These can be served warm or at room temperature. 

 

 

*Extras can be frozen in an airtight container for up to 1 month.  To reheat, bake them on 400 for 20 minutes until warmed through.

 

14 Comments so far
Leave a comment

What a great idea! A bit like a spanish omelette in a muffing cup.

Comment by firefoodie

Sausage, egg, & potato muffins, CREATIVE!

Comment by Sandi G

These are very unique indeed-breakfast muffins! We all get short on time and these are perfect for those moments. Tasty gems indeed.

Comment by Tina@flourtrader

These are SO cute! They remind me of something I did the other day, bacon egg and toast cups. YUM!

Comment by Joanne

Is this real? OMGeez. I WILL make these Saturday AND Sunday. Wow!!

Comment by Liz @ Southern Charm

These sound great, Alyssa! A much healthier alternative to regular muffins loaded with sugar! I would love to eat these for breakfast! Btw, I just added your blog to my blogroll. I hope that’s okay!

Comment by Stephanie

Thanks, Stephanie! I’ve been meaning to update mine and I’ll be adding you as well

Comment by alyssa

Oh, YUM! I love all the ingredients and I bet they were AMAZING! I’m drooling!

Comment by Ann

Such a great way to combine three breakfast staples! I can just see my kids grabbing a couple of these as they rush out the door for school. No mess, but a great meal on the go!

Comment by Kristen

Clever breakfast! What a great idea, especially for a brunch party.

Comment by Colette

Geez, unfortunate accident, fortunate outcome. 😉 They really look cute and because they come in ‘portions’, you can better watch the amount you’re eating. 😉

Cheers,
Tobias

Comment by Tobias @ T and Tea Cake

Tobias, that would be true…unless you eat seven like me:)

Comment by alyssa

These are great! I love the single serve nature of them, they’d be great to make on the weekend and eat all week long!

Comment by Vicki @ WITK

These look delicious! I love savory muffins. What a great breakfast/brunch idea. Thanks for sharing!!

Comment by Ramona




Leave a Reply

