Mom de Cuisine


Pineapple and Shrimp Spring Rolls
September 13, 2011, 1:22 pm
Filed under: Appetizers, Snacks | Tags: , , ,

I bought some fresh, pre-sliced pineapple a few days ago and this morning when I opened the fruit and vegetable drawer, I noticed that it was about 12 hours away from starting to go bad.  I didn’t feel like spending an hour looking up pineapple recipes because I still had a ton of other things to get to around the house (laundry, you will be the death of me!)  I just grabbed what I could out of the refrigerator and freezer, and tried to pull this together.  I assembled the spring rolls in the morning and while the kids napped, I “fried” them off.  Let me say, that was a bad idea.  I knew tossing the shrimp with the vinegar would make the shrimp mushy, but somehow I thought by putting them in the freezer I would thwart the cooking process.  Well, my lesson has been learned, and that’s not the case.  I should have fried them off right away.  I have to say, mushy shrimp aside, these were good, however, when I took a bite, I realized something was missing….soy sauce!  Oh well, it’s been a busy week and I was a little out of it.  Next time, if I add a tablespoon or so of soy, and cook these right away, they would be great!

 

Pineapple and Shrimp Spring Rolls

Ingredients:

1 cup crushed pineapple

1 cup cooked shrimp, cubed

1/2 cup shredded red cabbage

1/2 cup shredded carrots

1 small green chili (seeds removed unless you like it REALLY spicy)

1 tablespoon green onion, chopped

1-2 tablespoons soy sauce

3 tablespoons rice vinegar

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1 teaspoon fresh ginger, finely minced

1 egg, beaten

1 package spring roll wrappers (I actually used lumpia wrappers because that’s what I had, but either will do)

Preparation:

Combine soy sauce, rice vinegar, vegetable oil, and ginger.  Add cabbage, carrots, chili, and onion to the liquid and marinate for 30 minutes.  Add shrimp and pineapple to the vegetables.

To assemble the spring rolls:   Place vegetable and shrimp mixture on the top 1/3 of a spring roll wrapper.  Brush all of the sides with the egg wash.  Fold in the long sides, then roll up the filling in the wrapper (sorry for the bad description on how to roll these up, but if you know how to roll burritos, same idea.)  Brush the outside with the egg wash.  Repeat with the remaining filling and wrappers.

Place wrappers in an oil-less deep fryer (if you don’t have one, you can fry these in oil or bake them at 350) and fry until golden brown, about 8 minutes.

Serve with sweet chili dipping sauce.

 

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I guess we have the same tastes in a lot of stuff, I just had pineapple and shrimp last night! Those flavors are awesome together and how creative of you to come up with these spring rolls! I have saved this recipe-I will need to make these.

Comment by Tina@flourtrader

Great recipe, Alyssa! I’ve never had a spring roll like this, but they sound really tasty and delicious!!

Comment by Stephanie

Great idea to put shrimp and pineapple in these!

Comment by Erin @ Dinners, Dishes and Desserts

It’s amazing how laundry gets in the way of life, isn’t it?! I think these sound delicious!

I read somewhere on another blog that someone had mushy leftover shrimp because it sat with pineapple…..Raw pineapple has something in it that will also keep jello from setting. I don’t know what it is, but it’s powerful!

This looks absolutely amazing and it’s SO creative of you to look in the fridge and come up with this delicious dish!

Comment by Ann

Ann, I swear I go one day without doing laudry and it takes me a week to catch up! I thought it may have been the vinegar, it never occured to me that it was the pineapple that was the reason the shrimp were mushy. I guess I will have to tinker with this recipe more. Thanks for the info!

Comment by alyssa

Pineapple and shrimp… great flavors. Thanks for sharing.

Comment by Christine

I really love this combination and I know that my kids will absolutely love it. This is a great appetizer too, very light and simple. I bookmark this and must try this soon at a next get-together with friends.

Comment by Nami | Just One Cookbook

I love pineapple and shrimp together! Even if the shrimp turned out to be mushy, they sound & look wonderful!! I’m so glad I got a chance to look through your blog! Those churros I just spotted look awesome too! Thank you so much for passing the award on to me, much appreciated 🙂

Comment by Meghan




Leave a Reply

