Mom de Cuisine


Mexi-Monday: Spicy Orange Churros
September 12, 2011, 11:51 am
Filed under: Dessert, Snacks | Tags: , , ,

So, let me start off this Monday with a BIG thank you to Stephanie at  Eat. Drink. Love. !  When I saw that she gave me the award, The Versitile Blogger,  it totally made my day!  I’ve been at this a short time, so needless to say, I was very happy!  Along with the award, you must give seven facts about yourself, pass the award on to fifteen other deserving bloggers, and thank the person who gave you the award .   Thanks again, Stephanie!

First things, first….My seven random facts:

1.  When I was pregnant with both of my kids I was obsessed with crime/jail shows.  I would stay up late and watch Lock Up: Raw or Dateline NBC.  Oh, and don’t even get me started on Oz!

2.  One of my favorite memories as a child is using my Grandmother’s fire-engine-red Kitchen Aid stand mixer.  When my husband and I bought our first home the first thing I got was my own sage-green Kitchen Aid.  I think no kitchen would feel like home without it.

3.  I love Mexican food.  Well maybe that’s not random, but I love it so much that when I knew my husband was really the one when he knew how I liked my Chipotle burritos (extra, extra rice;  a little black beans; steak;  extra, extra cheese; and hot salsa on the side.  Oh and chips too.)

4.  Growing up, I always wanted to live in another country.  Now my family and I have been living almost 6,000 miles away from home.  I didn’t know what to expect, but so far it’s been a great experience.

5.  I HATE mayonaise!  If you make something for me with mayo in it, don’t tell me because I won’t eat it.  But chances are, you won’t be able to trick me, I can always taste it in foods. 

6.  I’m such a restaurant geek that every time I’m planning on going out to eat at a new restaurant, I’ll go online and look up the menu to try to decide what I’ll order. Yet, when I get to the restaurant, I still look at the menu and usually choose something different.

7.  I first started a blog to keep family updated with pictures of the kids while we were away.  Then I thought I’d start a second blog to organize recipes and remember what I’ve cooked.  I never thought I would enjoy it as much as I have.  Being away from friends and family can be rough, but I feel like sometimes this blog has kept me from going insane. 

Whew!  Now on to the seven blogs…

1. Postres de la Cipota.  She makes some amazing desserts!

2. Bromography  Great and funny posts about food and life.

3. T and Tea Cake.  Check out the Mexican Chocolate Tart!

4. Just One Cookbook.  Japanese recipes with great photography.

5.  Curry and Comfort.  So many great recipes with ingredients I’m not used to cooking with, but can’t wait to try!

6.  That’s So Michelle.  Crave worthy food.  If someone can dress up a hot dog the way she does, just imagine how great the rest of her recipes are!

7. Dinners, Dishes, and Desserts.  Another mom blogger who has great family food!

8.  Scarletta  Bakes.  Anyone who comes up with avocado and lime pop tarts is already a winner in my book.

9.  Chef and Steward.  Wonderful pictures, and bloggers in the same part of the world as me 🙂

10. Buttercream Blondi.  She had me at disco dust.

11.  Real Fun Food.  She makes me want to take a trip to England!

12.  Comowater.  I’m as carnivorous  as they come, but her vegetarian and vegan recipes are great!

13.  The Plaid and Paisley Kitchen.  Simple, delicious  recipes.

14. Eat, Drink and Be Merry.  Great recipes, gorgeous photos!

15.  Fifteen Spatulas.  Her Wordless Wednesdays show the beauty of food.

And now, about those churros….I got the recipe from the first cook book I bought myself in college.  It’s pretty simple, and even in my first crappy apartment I was able to make these tasty treats.   I decided to add some chili powder to the dough for an extra kick, and because “M” likes spicy (I did leave a little unspicey, as “C” does not.)

 

Spicy Orange Churros

*adapted from The Great American Cookbook by Joy Skipper

 

Ingredients:

1 cup water

7 tablespoons butter, or shortening, diced

2 tablespoons brown sugar

Finely grated rind of 1 small orange

Pinch of salt

1 1/4 cups flour, sifted

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon, plus extra for dusting

Pinch of cayenne pepper (or more if you like extra spicy)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 eggs

vegetable oil for frying

superfine sugar, for dusting

Preparation:

Heat water, butter, sugar, orange rind, and salt in a heavy bottom pan over medium high heat until the butter has melted.

Add the flour, cinnamon, cayenne, and vanilla extract, then remove the pan from the heat and beat rapidly until the mixture pulls away from the side of the pan

Let cool slightly, then beat in the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition until the mixture is thick and smooth.  Spoon into a pastry bag fitted with a wide star tip.

Heat the oil to 350.  Pipe 5 inch lengths into the oil, being careful not to over crowd it.  Fry for 4 minutes, or until golden brown.  Remove churros with slotted spoon to paper towels to drain.  Dust the churros with sugar and cinnamon. Serve  hot or at room temperature. 

18 Comments so far
Leave a comment

So many great things to say about this post, Alyssa! First, You totally deserved the award and I was happy to pass it along to you! Second, I love your facts!! That first one about the crime shows and being pregnant totally cracked me up! I love Mexican food too, I could probably eat it every day! I think you passed on your award to some really great bloggers. It’s so hard to pick just 15 people! And finally, those churros are the B.O.M.B! I’ve never made my own, but they are now officially on my list of things to make someday!

Comment by Stephanie

Congrats on the award! These churros look heavenly. Knowing how addicted I am to them, I have to be sure to make a very small batch for fear of over indulging. Great post.

Comment by Tina@flourtrader

i never thought of making churros spicy before… sounds great!

Comment by Kristin

Is… is that MY name up there??? OH MY GOSH! Thank you SO much! I really did not see that coming and you just completely made my day! Doing the happy dance right now! 😉

About the recipe: I have only eaten churros once in my life so far and that was at the south bank christmas market in London last year for a whopping 4GBP as far as I remember. I knew they were ridiculously overprized but I just HAD to! 😉
They were good, but yours are better 😉 orange and cinnamon go well together and the idea with the cayenne is just great! They served them with a bit of molten nutella and I think that is just what I am going to do when I make these. 😉

Cheers and THANK YOU!
Tobias

Comment by Tobias @ T and Tea Cake

Yes, that was your name! I planned to message everyone and let them know but I only had time to quickly publish that post before we had to run out the door for a meeting. You deserve it! Your blog is really great!
p.s. I did a happy dance too 🙂

Comment by alyssa

Congratulations! This award is certainly well deserved with your creative recipes like Gnocchi Tater Tots and Homemade Fig Pop Tarts. Your adorable sous chefs are also worth the recognition. The Bromography team is incredibly flattered that you would choose to pass this award on to us. Thank you!!

–The spicy orange churros look yummy and incredibly well executed. I cannot wait to try the recipe out.

Comment by Elle (Bromography)

Hey Alyssa, Thanks so much! You have placed us in very fine company. Your fig pop tarts are stuck in my head! Congrats to you too on receiving the award yourself. I wrote to you asking if you were based in Dubai/UAE. This is because we have a blogging group that I would invite you to join if you are. Please let me know via email mail @chefandsteward. com

BTW.. these look YUM!

Comment by Chef and Steward

Congrats to you for getting the Versatile Blogger award. You have a wonderful blog and it’s well deserved. Thank you so much for being so kind to nominate me for the Versatile Blogger award!! I always love your comments and coming over here to check out your recipes. My kids would go crazy over these churros! I love the design you did with them. Very pretty! I also love the hint of cayenne. Yay.. spicy!

Comment by Ramona

PS.. It was so fun to read you facts. I enjoyed them very much. : )

Comment by Ramona

I meant “your” facts. That’s a fact about me. I typo all the time. My brain works faster than my fingers. LOL!

Comment by Ramona

Thank you SO MUCH, Alyssa! You are so sweet!!

And these churros look absolutely amazing! I can’t wait to try your recipe!!

Comment by Meagan @ Scarletta Bakes

I really like your 7 random facts! The only thing is….I love mayonnaise! I guess since it’s a treat (because of the fat content) we should get along…I don’t have it too much any more!

How clever to put orange and cayenne in these churros! I bet they were delicious!

Comment by Ann

Thank you sooo! Much for the award! I am just blown away with the great love the food blogger community has!
I too love your blog and your recipes!

Comment by the plaid and paisley kitchen

Hi Alyssa! It was so fun to read more about you! I love fire-engine-red color in my kitchen! And my husband is same as you – he “study” pretty well about the restaurant and I think he’s more foodie than I am. I hear you about living far away from home, family, and friends. It was also my dream to live abroad and wished my dad had a job that brings entire family to different countries… Thank you so much for passing me the award! I feel very honored to receive it from you! I love spicy orange churros – the curvy churros!! This is way too cool and delicious. I really enjoy coming here Alyssa!

Comment by Nami | Just One Cookbook

Congrats on your award, I loved reading your seven wonderful random facts…
These churros look wonderful, I love churros….

Comment by Reem | Simply Reem

Awww thank you for the award!!!! Today was one of those “off days” and you made my day a little better! These churros look awesome by the way. I’ve never seen them piped so long but I really like the look of it!

Comment by Joanne

Glad I could make your day a little better!

Comment by alyssa

Ahahaha, I do the same thing before going out to eat! Love it 🙂 Congratulations!

Comment by Tessa @ FlexYourFood




Leave a Reply

