Mom de Cuisine


Creamy, Cheesy, Garlicky, Rice with Spinach: French Fridays With Dorie
September 9, 2011, 7:06 am
Filed under: Main Course, Pasta & Rice, Sides | Tags: , , , , ,

 

I recently joined French Fridays with Dorie.  If you haven’t heard of it, it’s a group of bloggers that all make a selected recipe out of  Around My French Table, by Dorie Greenspan and post said recipe every Friday.    If you want to join, just click here

My copy arrived last friday and I was beyond excited.  I’ve already read it cover-to-cover (does it make me strange that I read every new cook book like a novel?)  Not only does she have so many great recipes that are both classic and inventive, she also tells a story with each one.  This has become one of my favorite cook books-second only to my Grandmother’s cook book. 

 

 

This dish is everything it’s title promises.  It is creamy, cheesy, garlicky goodness.  Oh and the spinach adds a nice earthiness to it as well.  I used red spinach, as that was what I had on hand.  I will continue to use this as more of a method than a recipe, and a great way to spice up left overs, adding whatever is in the ‘fridge.  As you can see, I took Dorie’s suggestion and stuffed peppers with the rice.  We enjoyed this for lunch with some sautéed shrimp.  “M” choose to have the red pepper, because that’s her favorite color.  “C” choose the yellow, because that’s his favorite color (as “M” dictated it to be a few months ago.)

I can’t wait to make next friday’s recipe, stay tuned for that post!

 

 

*Per the rules for FFWD, recipes are not posted, just pictures.  You must buy the book for the recipe, but believe me, you won’t be disappointed!

24 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am still going through her baking cookbook, so I have yet to get the new one. The rice does sound like an awesome side dish! Have good weekend!

Comment by Tina@flourtrader

I really like stuffed bell peppers and these look particularly good. Never made them that way, though. Mine usually contain ground meat and tomato along with the rice – reminds me to change things up once in a while. 🙂

Cheers,
Tobias

Comment by Tobias @ T and Tea Cake

This looks so good, Alyssa! I love stuffed peppers too and creamy, cheesy, garlicky rice sounds like my kind of rice!

Comment by Stephanie

Welcome to the FFwD group! I’ve only been at it a month myself’ love reading AMFT recipes, though I’ve only had time to look at a few. Your stuffed peppers look wonderful.

Comment by Tasty Mayhem

Welcome to French Fridays, it’s good that you’re so excited about Dorie’s recipes like we all are. You’re the first one I’ve seen who has attempted the stuffed peppers as per Dorie’s bonne idee, and they do look vibrant and delicious!

Comment by Maya@Foodiva's Kitchen

Love the colors of your bell peppers – they really look beautiful stuffed with the rice! Happy French Friday!

Comment by Confessions of a Culinary Diva

Welcome to the group! I love the stuffed peppers! I’m finding so many variations to try! Yours looks delicious.

Comment by Frankly Entertaining

Welcome! I read cookbooks, too, and am addicted to buying new ones. I’m trying to reign it in. lol Your rice looks great! I didn’t have the patience to stuff peppers and cook it for an extra 45 minutes, so I roasted some peppers separately and just piled the rice on. I’m glad I did–the peppers were SO GOOD with this. Glad everyone liked it!

Comment by Eileen

Welcome to the group!

And in answer to your question… No you are in no way strange for reading through your cookbooks! Well, either that or I am strange as well. I am always leafing through mine for inspiration.

Comment by oneexpatslife

Welcome to the group 🙂 I am like you…reading the cookbook like a novel book and will start bookmarking the ones with the nicest picture :p Your cheesy rice looks nice sitting on the bell pepper 🙂 Great job !

Comment by Elin

Welcome to FFWD! Love your stuffed peppers – they look fabulous! 🙂

Comment by Jessica of My Baking Heart

Welcome aboard.
Nope – nothing weird at all about reading cookbooks like a novel! (You can usually find a couple next to my bed for late night reading…)

Comment by Cher

I don’t think its weird that you read cookbooks like novels… I do the same thing! Glad to have you on board!!

Comment by Alice

If you like to read cookbooks like novels, I think you are in great company in this group. I do the same, and know I’m not the only one. One of the things I like so much about this book is that so many of Dorie’s recipes are like methods, jumping off points to inspire infinite variations. I love the vibrant color of your peppers! Looks great!

Comment by betsy

Stunning! I promise you, you’re not alone in the way you read cookbooks! I do it, too! I really like these recipes and I suspect I’ll be purchasing my own book soon…..this is a great series!

Comment by Ann

I have not seen red spinach before. It gives such a pretty tint to the Arborio. Very pretty stuffed peppers!

Comment by Elaine

Your stuffed peppers look fantastic!
And your kids are gorgeous!!!

Comment by sanyaliving

I’m glad that I’m not the only one who reads cookbooks 🙂
Thank you everyone who is apart of FFWD for your kind words and being so welcoming!
@ Eileen my peppers were on the small side, so I had plenty extra to munch on while the peppers cooked!

Comment by alyssa

Welcome to French Fridays!! So glad you enjoyed the recipe. Your peppers look so festive! Yummy!

Comment by dulceshome

Welcome to the group! It’s been a wonderful experience and I love seeing everyone’s take on each week’s recipe. I agree with you on reading cookbooks like novels – Dorie’s especially lend themselves to this, because of the stories she tells. Even her explanations of technique are great reads.

I did the peppers, too – loved it!

Comment by Teresa

Mmm sounds so yummy. And I love those adorable, colorful little pepper bowls!

Comment by thesmartcookiecook

These colors are so beautiful!

Comment by tiffany

I also read cookbooks cover to cover – I’m actually going through Dorie’s Baking book these days. Welcome aboard and I look forward to reading your posts. Your blog is beautiful, Alyssa!

Comment by Adriana @ GreatFood360°

[…] back the French Fridays with Dorie recipe was Creamy, Cheesy, Garlicky Rice with Spinach (click here to see my version.)  Her French version of risotto doesn’t require constant stirring and […]

Pingback by Sweet Potato and Sausage Risotto « Mom de Cuisine




Leave a Reply

