Mom de Cuisine


Mexi-Monday: Grilled Huevos Rancheros Pizza
September 5, 2011, 2:31 pm
Filed under: Breakfast, Snacks | Tags: , , , ,

This pizza idea came about pretty simply:  it’s monday, which means Mexican food(well I’m not actually sure huevos rancheros are mexican….)  and it’s Memorial Day, which means grilling.  It’s been a long, but fun weekend, so I’ll keep this post short and sweet; or maybe I should say short and spicy! 

Grilled Huevos Rancheros Pizza

Ingredients:

1 cup Spicy Tomato Sauce (I used the left over sauce from my Grilled Hamour we had earlier in the weekend)

1 cup Shredded Colby jack cheese

1 link chorizo (I used Spanish chorizo but mexican would work well too!)

1 12 oz can black beans

1/2 teaspoon  cayenne pepper

1 teaspoon cumin

4 eggs

2 tablespoons vegetable oil

2 large pitas

1 lime, sliced, for garnish

fresh cilantro for garnish

salt/pepper to taste

 

Preparation:

To make the black bean puree:  Combine black beans, cayenne, cumin, salt and pepper.  Using an immersion blender, puree until smooth.  If the mixture is too thick, add water to thin and adjust seasonings.

Slice the chorizo and saute over medium heat until cooked and slightly crisp, being careful not to burn it.  Drain all but 1 tablespoon of the drippings.  Add vegetable oil and return to medium high heat.  Fry eggs 1-2 minutes per side until the whites are cooked*

To assemble the pizza:  Spread tomato sauce on  each pita and top with cheese.  Add chorizo and then fried eggs.  Grill pizza until pita is crisp and cheese melts.  Drizzle black bean puree and sprinkle cilantro on top.  Serve with lime wedges.

 

*You could also crack the eggs on to the pizza once it’s on the grill instead of frying them first.  Then you would grill until the whites are set, but the yolks are still runny.  I didn’t do it that way because it’s been over two months since we moved here and my husband and I are just now able to eat the eggs without getting sick.  I didn’t think I should push it with runny yolks.


7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Mmm, I’m a big fan of huevos rancheros so the idea of this on a pizza sounds absolutely wonderful! Love all these flavors!

Comment by Stephanie

How creative!! What a great twist on huevos rancheros!! My hubby would love this!

Comment by Erin @ Dinners, Dishes and Desserts

[…] Mom de Cuisine Digg this post Recommend on Facebook Share on faves Share via MySpace Share on Orkut Share with Stumblers Tumblr it Tweet about it Buzz it up Email a friend | Posted in .Recipe, BBQ & Grilling | Tags: black bean, chorizo, pizza […]

Pingback by Grilled Huevos Rancheros Pizza | Food Frenzy

I would devour this for breakfast (and lunch and dinner). YUM! I love your presentation. You really know how to dress up some eggs. : ) Great job.

Comment by Ramona

Great idea. Very creative.

Comment by Anonymous

Gorgeous! I love this pizza. I am going to try it. Love what you did with the black beans.

Comment by Michelle O

Wonderful idea and I bookmarked and will try this soon! I always love dishes with eggs on it. 🙂

Comment by Nami | Just One Cookbook




Leave a comment