Mom de Cuisine


Traditional American Pot Roast in a 21st Century Tagine
August 31, 2011, 2:01 pm
Filed under: Main Course

I love kitchen gadgets, like I could spend all day in William Sonoma the way my husband could spend all day shopping for big screen tv’s.  So a few weeks ago, while searching for a new crock pot, I came across an electic tagine.  Tagines are the throw-back Middle Eastern version of a crock pot.  Traditional tagines are hand painted clay  pots that are used to slow cook food.  I thought when I bought  it that it would be the perfect opportunity to try my hand at a traditional Middle Eastern dish.  I’ve spent weeks looking through recipes for tagines: beef, lamb, chicken…. But nothing was jumping out at me.  Finally, I decided that I would just cook what I really have been  craving….good ‘ol American pot roast.  And it was soooo good!  I don’t know if it was because we are so far away from home, or it was the clay magic of the tagine, but this was the best pot roast I’ve ever made.

American Pot Roast with Mashed Potatoes and Sautéed Spinach

2 pounds Chuck Roast

1 cup Red Wine

4-5 cups Beef Stock

1/4 cup tomato paste

2 tablespoons Rosemary

2 tablespoons thyme

2 large carrots

2 celery stalks

2 large onions

5 cloves garlic

5 large potatoes

2 tablespoons butter

1/4 cup milk

1 bunch red spinach

1 bunch green spinach

1 tablespoon olive oil

Salt/Pepper to taste

Parsley, for garnish

 

Preparation

To prepare the roast:  Pat roast dry and season liberally with salt and pepper.  In a heavy bottom skillet, heat oil on medium, high.  Sear beef on all sides.  While meat is searing, cut carrot, onion, and celery into equal sized pieces, add to the tagine.  Dice 4 garlic cloves, and add to the tagine along with rosemary and thyme.  In a separate bowl, combine beef stock and red wine, and tomato paste.  Place roast on top of the vegetables and pour liquid on top Season liberally with salt and pepper.  Cover  and cook on medium for 8-10 hours, or until meat is fork tender.

To make mashed potatoes: When roast is tender, cut potatoes into 1 inch cubes.  Place in a salted pot of water and cook until soft.  While potatoes boil, warm milk on low heat.  Once the potatoes are tender, drain water and mash with a hand mixer.  Slowly pour in warmed milk and continue to blend until smooth and creamy.  Add the butter and blend once more.

To make the spinach:  Warm olive oil over medium heat.  Dice garlic clove, and add to oil.  Saute for 1 minute.  Add greens and toss in oil until spinach is wilted.

Meanwhile, spoon 2-3 cups of the roast cooking liquid.  Place in a sauce pot over  medium high heat and reduce by half to one-third.  Drizzle over roast, removed from the remaining cooking liquid.

 

 

 

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This reminds me of my childhood. I really miss pot roast!! Also, I wasn’t sure if you realized but when you commented on my blog I noticed your URL doesn’t work – it’s for an old site I think? Just wanted to let you know in case you commented on other people’s blogs they might not be able to click through and they’d miss out on your wonderful recipes 🙂

Comment by realfunfood

Thanks for the heads up about the link!

Comment by alyssa

I’ve been wanting to try to make one. I think you’ve given me the inspiration 😀

Comment by Monica Robledo @ Everything Awesome About Food

Your pot roast looks delicious! I totally know what you mean about Williams and Sonoma. I could spend hours in there! Love your new tangine! Can’t wait to see what else you can do with it!

Comment by Stephanie

I tried Moroccan tagine a few weeks ago, love it. Interesting to see an electric tagine 🙂

Comment by Shannon@JustAsDelish

I love pot roast! Especially with cold weather slowly making it’s way into Texas!

P.S. thanks for stopping by The Quest 😉

Comment by Blair C

[…] Uncategorized © Copyright Cooking Methods And Tips 2011. All rights reserved. WordPress | SagarDezign Pvt Ltd | XHTML Rss Feed Tweeter button Facebook button Technorati button Reddit button Delicious button Digg button Stumbleupon button Traditional American Pot Roast in a 21st Century Tagine […]

Pingback by Your Questions About Cooking Roast Beef | Cooking Methods And Tips




Leave a Reply

