Mom de Cuisine


Shwarma: The Middle Eastern Taco
August 15, 2011, 11:58 am
Filed under: Chicken, Main Course | Tags: , , ,


I love Shwarmas.  I could eat at least 4 a day.  Ever since we arrived in the Middle East, I just can not get enough Shwarma.  They are cheap, they aren’t too filling, and they are soooooo delishous!  If you don’t know what a Shwarma is, don’t worry, I didn’t either until about two months ago.  I would describe it as a Middle Eastern taco.  It’s thinly sliced chicken or beef in a pita (sometimes a tortilla depending on where you go and what size you order.)  They slice the meat from a cone shaped thing which, at least in my mind, makes it tender and juicy.  It’s usually stuffed with some fresh pickled veggies, some sort of mayonnaise based sauce, maybe some Tabasco if you ask for it spicy, and maybe some fries (french fries in the Middle East are the best fries I’ve had anywhere.)  I don’t have a cone-shaped-shwarma thing, so I just had to roast the breasts in the oven.  I’m sure that this was anything but traditional, but I had to try making one for myself.  The results:  good enough if all other Shwarma sources are unavailable. 

Chicken Shwarma

Ingredients

  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 2 tbs Shwarma spice
  • 1 tbs vegetable oil
  • 4 pitas
  • for garnish, thinly sliced cucumber, tomatoes, lettuce, mayo

Preparation

  • Preheat oven to 350.  Coat chicken breasts with shwarma spice.  Put on non-stick baking sheet and drizzle with vegetable oil.  Bake chicken until cooked through. 
  • Thinly slice chicken breasts.  Drizzle mayonnaise on pita, add chicken breasts, cucumber, tomato, and lettuce.  Serve with fries.
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

