Mom de Cuisine


Mexi-Monday: Crispy Fish Tacos
August 8, 2011, 9:54 am
Filed under: Fish, Main Course | Tags: ,

If reincarnation exists, I think I was probably Mexican in my  last life.  I say this only to say, that I love Mexican food.  I love Mexican food so much that I’ve been known to cry over a burrito (which actually prompted my marrage, but that’s a story for another time.)  So to satisfy my Mexi-craving this week, I made one of me and my sous chefs’ favorites: Crispy fish tacos.  The Sous Chefs like this one because they can assemble their own, and are thus more likely to eat said tacos.

Ingredients:

  • 2 limes, plus more for garnish
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 2 tbsp cumin
  • 2 garlic clove
  • 1 bunch cilantro
  • 4 fillets firm white fish, cut into strips
  • 2 Cups flour
  • 2 cups cold seltzer water
  • Oil for deep frying
  • Salt/Pepper
  • Tortillas
  • Pepper Jack cheese (optional)
  • Thinly sliced Radishes, red onion and lettuce (optional)

Preparation:

  • Prepare marinade for fish:  combine lime juice, zest of one lime, chili powder, cumin, cilantro (leave enough to garnish at the end).  Add fish and marinate for 15 minutes.
  • While fish marinates, heat oil to 350. 
  • Combine 1 cup flour and cold seltzer .  Shake excess marinade off of fish, dredge in flour, shake off excess and dip in seltzer batter. 
  • Fry fish in batches until golden brown on all sides.  Place crispy fish on paper towels to drain off excess grease and salt/pepper immediatly. 
  • To assemble tacos:  Place warm fish on tortilla.  Top with lettuce, cheese, cilantro, radish and red onion.  Serve with Chips and Guacamole. 
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

