Mom de Cuisine


Already Married Roast Chicken
August 5, 2011, 7:56 am
Filed under: Main Course | Tags: , ,

Like most women are always in search of the perfect little black dress (myself included), I think I am also constantly searching for the perfect method to roast a chicken.  I’ve been meaning to try the recipe for Engagement Chicken for a long time, and I thought what better way to christen my new oven! However, I am already married, so I was not looking for a proposal; just a healthy meal to make my family happy.  I made a few changes to the  recipe, so my Already Married Roast Chicken is as follows:

Ingredients:

  • Two whole roaster chickens, rinsed and dried
  • 4 lemons
  • 4 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp each, dried thyme, dried sage
  • 3 large onions
  • 5 large potatoes
  • 2 carrots
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 6 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 1 tbsp flour
  • salt/pepper to taste

Preparation:

  • Preheat oven to 375
  • Juice two of the lemons and use a fork to poke holes in three places of the remaining lemons
  • Liberally salt and pepper the cavity of each chicken and stuff whole lemons inside.  Truss the chicken.  Using a sharp knife, cut a small piece of the skin away from the back of the breast on each chicken.  Rub 1/2 tbsp butter under the  skin of each breast. Add salt, pepper and dried herbs under the skin of each breast.  Rub the remaining butter over the skin of each chicken.  Pour the fresh lemon juice over each chicken.
  • Cut vegetables into  equal sized pieces.  Add to roasting pan along with mined garlic and pour white wine over the vegetables.  Season liberally with salt/pepper.  Place Chicken on top of the vegetables, and into the oven it goes!
  • Roast until juices run clear, turning and basting every 15-20 minutes.
  • Remove from oven and transfer chicken and vegetables to a platter.  While Chicken rests, separate the fat from the juices.  Add 1 tablespoon of the fat back to the roasting pan and whisk with 1 tablespoon flour for 2-3 minutes.  Slowly add the juices back to the pan, whisking until the gravy bubbles and thickens. 
  • Serve chicken and vegetables with the gravy on the side, and enjoy.  If already married, watch for a smile on hubby’s face!

*Mom de Cuisine’s note:  Save chicken bones for homemade stock.

36 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi there, thank you for leaving such a kind comment on myfudo.com today. The chicken, married, looks absolutely divine!

Comment by Marie

I love roast chicken, and they look perfect!

Comment by chefdennis

Thanks! I thought the whole lemon in the cavity was a great trick

Comment by alyssa

This looks wonderful – I’ll bet the veggies are super tasty from being cooked with the chicken! Yum!

Comment by Ruth

Thanks, Ruth! The veggies did turn out really great! My hubby pretty much finished all of them in one sitting!

Comment by alyssa

[…] Already Married Roast Chicken (momdecuisine.wordpress.com) […]

Pingback by Lip Licking Moments & Recipe BlogHow To Make An Amazing Roast Dinner - Lip Licking Moments

What a funny way to name this recipe 🙂 It really looks very tasty. Thanks for sharing.

Comment by eftychia

Wow!! you are great!! The kitchen must tasty!!

Comment by Floor register

Hi Alyssa! Thank you for visiting my blog and now I’m here. Wow I love how you cook these delicious food and some food with your children! And they are SUPER cute!!! I especially love the picture of you and your daughter on the top. Such a great picture showing what this blog is all about! I only roasted chicken once and I surely need your guidance. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

Comment by Nami | Just One Cookbook

Thanks, Nami!

Comment by alyssa

I think that there is no better dish than roasted chicken, and yours came out perfect..love it!!

Comment by Sandra's Easy Cooking

I agree, Sandra, thank you!

Comment by alyssa

Lovely!!!! I love the recipe it sounds delicious… Your picture with your daughter is so beautiful.
Food is about love and family and your blogs say it all.

Comment by Reem | Simply Reem

Thank you Reem! I hope that she has fond memories of cooking together!

Comment by alyssa

Ha, love your story and name for this dish. This is a lovely recipe and family dinner! I agree – make that stock! It’s so easy and good to have on hand. I freeze mine in small batches. Very nice blog and nice to meet you. Looking forward to reading more!

Comment by Linda

Linda, I did make the stock, and it was sooo good. I forgot to take pictures and write down everything I put into it too. I like to freeze the extras in an ice cube tray. Thank you for the kind words!

Comment by alyssa

What a GREAT recipe! I completely agree about saving your chicken bones for stock! Nothing beats the smell and taste of a roasting chicken!

Comment by Ann

Thank you Ann. You are right, nothing beats homemade stock!

Comment by alyssa

Yum! I love the pictures of your roasted chicken. This is my first time here, I love your site!

Comment by Cassie @ bake your day

I wish I roasted more chicken. This looks fabulous! Thank you also for dropping by Curry and Comfort. I wanted to answer your question regarding coconut powder. I would mix the powder with water (per package instructions) and let a sit for a few minutes. This usually helps the coconut milk thicken up. I have used Maggi Coconut powder… don’t know if that is the one you have. But it’s a pretty good substitute for the canned coconut milk. : )

Comment by Ramona

Thanks for sharing this recipe! I love it – and I’m just so curious about the lemons…I’ve never tried that before.
Looks like it turned out wonderfully and what a great presentation!

Comment by Emily {The Best of this Life}

I think leaving the lemons whole made sure the juices stayed inside the chicken. It also kept it juicy and you could really taste the lemon throughout the chicken

Comment by alyssa

roasted chicken is a favorite around here! The trick with the lemons and cooking the veggies with the chickens make this an extra special dish. Thanks for sharing.

Comment by Tina@flourtrader

oh my goodness that must smell like heaven! The flavor I can imagine is magnificent. Fabulous recipe!

Comment by Kate @ Kate from Scratch

What absolutely beautiful roasted chickens! I love how you cook the chicken on top of your veggies. This is picture perfect! : )

Comment by Anne@frommysweetheart

Love the name of this chicken and it has to have 2 lovely chooks too!

Comment by ChopinandMysaucepan

I absolutely adore the look and name of this dish, and good thing there was a pair of the chickens too! LOL.

Comment by Maya@Foodiva's Kitchen

I have never roasted a full chicken .. but i really want to sometime. This looks really nice and like a pro.

Comment by kankana

I go nuts for roast chicken, and yours looks so perfect! I love the name, too, it cracked me up 🙂

Comment by Nicole @ Bake Me Blush

Very creative way to name two roasted chickens. They are very perfectly cooked. Wish that I can have this professional cooked food for tonight dinner.

Comment by Zoe

Aww, that’s very nice! It was actually very simple and I am no where near professional!

Comment by alyssa

Hi Alyssa,

My baby has gone from loving rice and pasta to being a gourmet cook! I’M SO PROUD OF YOU. Can’t wait until you come back to the States and open your restaurant.

Love, Your Mom

Comment by Anonymous

Thanks, Mom! And I do still love pasta and rice 🙂

Comment by alyssa

Oh wow…just seeing your site for the first time and I love it. It is so different than other sites I have seen — totally intrigued. Thanks for stopping by mine recenty and saving the pumpkin pasta recipe! I’m not HUGE into mushrooms either but…they are surprisingly not much of the flavor in the meal. Either way, they are good. I think your chicken looks amazing!

I’ve actually been plannign to make the “engagement chicken” for awhile because well, I heard it works! Thanks for the reminder 🙂 I look forward to reading more of your blog!

-Ericka

Comment by ericka.andersen@gmail.com

Thank you so much!

Comment by alyssa

[…] Already Married Roast Chicken (momdecuisine.wordpress.com) Rate this: Share this:PrintEmailFacebookStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Pingback by Rainbow, October 16, 2011 – Lemon Garlic Roast Chicken « Frugal Hausfrau's Blog




Leave a Reply

